Warwick's Only Disclosed Sale Price in a Month Was $40,000
WARWICK -- Eleven property transfers were recorded in Warwick between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12, but just one deed included a sale price, and most of the transactions involved banks, mortgage companies or federal housing officials as the seller.
MARKET OVERVIEW The Franklin County Registry of Deeds recorded 11 property transfers in Warwick during the period. Only one of those 11 transactions disclosed a sale price: $40,000, recorded Sept. 4. Because just one deed carried a consideration amount, the reported price range and median, both $40,000, reflect that single transaction only and are not representative of the broader market. Eleven recorded transfers over a four-week span is a modest but real amount of activity for a small town, though the near-total absence of disclosed prices makes it impossible to assess value trends from this data set alone.
TOP SALES With only one of 11 deeds carrying a sale price, transactions cannot be ranked against one another by price. The lone disclosed sale was a property in Warwick, with no street address specified in the deed, that sold Sept. 4 for $40,000. The seller was Paul T. Young and the buyer was Randy Herk.
The remaining 10 transfers, all with price not disclosed, include: 630 Orange Road, sold Sept. 10 from Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. and Quicken Loans Inc. to Holly Z. Manson. 77 Hastings Heights Road, sold Sept. 8 from Greenfield Cooperative Bank to Sarah J. Soos and Cody J. Soos. 855 Orange Road, sold Sept. 1 from Crescent Mortgage Co. and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. to Martin L. Brown. 851 Wendell Road, sold Aug. 25 from Athol Credit Union to Joseph F. Campbell. Because none of these carried a disclosed price, they are listed by recording date rather than ranked by value.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Orange Road was the most active street in the period, with three separate transfers: 630 Orange Road, 855 Orange Road and 45 Orange Road, all recorded between Aug. 19 and Sept. 10. In each case the seller was a bank or mortgage-related entity. No other street had more than one recorded transfer. Because only one transaction disclosed a price, sales cannot be grouped into price tiers.
MARKET NOTES Eight of the 11 recorded transfers listed a bank, mortgage company, credit union or federal housing entity as the seller: Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., Quicken Loans Inc., Greenfield Cooperative Bank, Crescent Mortgage Co., Athol Credit Union, Greenfield Savings Bank, Reverse Mortgage Funding LLC, the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, Capital One N.A. and JPMorgan Chase Bank N.A. That pattern means the large majority of recorded deeds in this period were transfers out of lender or federal ownership rather than sales between private owners.
Two of the 11 transfers did not list a buyer in the deed record: 95 Chase Hill Road, where the seller was Reverse Mortgage Funding LLC and HUD, and 45 Orange Road, where the sellers were Capital One N.A. and JPMorgan Chase Bank N.A.
One transfer, 20 South Holden Street, ran in the opposite direction of most deeds in the set: the sellers, Deborah Lynn Gresock and Leigh Anne Lovely, were private individuals, and the buyers were Massachusetts Electric Co. and Verizon New England Inc. That structure, a utility company as buyer, is consistent with an easement or utility-access transfer rather than a residential home sale.
No bedroom, bathroom or square-footage figures were available in any of the 11 deed records, so no price-per-square-foot comparisons can be made, and with only one disclosed sale price, no broader price-based comparisons are possible either.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17 | 244 Old Winchester Rd | Jpmorgan Chase Bank Na | Kitchen Adam L O | Not disclosed |
| Aug 17 | 10 Royalston Rd | Whiting Barbara J | Brouard Pamela J; Lochhead Scott R | Not disclosed |
| Aug 19 | 20 South Holden St | Gresock Deborah Lynn; Lovely Leigh Anne | Massachusetts Electric Co; Verizon New England Inc | Not disclosed |
| Aug 19 | 45 Orange Rd | Capital One Na; Jpmorgan Chase Bank Na | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 20 | 95 Chase Hill Rd | Reverse Mortgage Funding LLC By Atty; Usa Housing Urban Development | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 24 | 206 Shepardson Rd | Greenfield Savings Bank | Shepardson Richard G; Shepardson Patricia A | Not disclosed |
| Aug 25 | 851 Wendell Rd | Athol Credit Union | Campbell Joseph F | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 1 | 855 Orange Rd | Crescent Mortgage Co; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | Brown Martin L | Not disclosed |
| Sep 4 | (no address) | Young Paul T | Herk Randy | $40,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 8 | 77 Hastings Heights Rd | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | Soos Sarah J; Soos Cody J | Not disclosed |
| Sep 10 | 630 Orange Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Quicken Loans Inc | Manson Holly Z | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.