Two disclosed Leverett sales show wide price gap in August
LEVERETT -- Nine properties changed hands in Leverett between July 31 and August 29, but sale prices were disclosed in only two of those transactions, limiting what can be reported about the local market this period.
MARKET OVERVIEW Franklin County Registry of Deeds records show nine recorded property transfers in Leverett during the period. Of those, only two included a disclosed consideration amount: $58,700 and $350,000. Because fewer than three sales carry disclosed prices, a reliable median cannot be calculated from this data set. The transaction volume of nine recorded deeds is the only figure that can be stated with confidence for the period; whether that represents an active or quiet month cannot be assessed without comparable prior-period data, which was not provided.
TOP SALES 158 North Leverett Rd sold for $350,000 on Aug. 10. The sellers were Peter Reich, trustee, and Susan P. Gulick, trustee; the buyer was Greenfield Cooperative Bank. Bed, bath and square footage figures were not available in the deed record.
20 Cushman Rd sold for $58,700 on Aug. 10. The seller was Gregory R. Tuzzolo; the buyer was Greenfield Savings Bank. Bed, bath and square footage figures were not available.
The remaining seven transactions recorded during the period did not include a disclosed sale price: 8 Teawaddle Hill Rd (Aug. 13), 59 Montague Rd (Aug. 10), 43 Long Plain Rd (Aug. 10), 363 North Leverett Rd (Aug. 7), 249 Montague Rd (Aug. 6), 150 Dudleyville Rd (July 31) and 194 Montague Rd (July 31).
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Montague Road saw the most activity of any street in the data set, with three recorded transfers: 59 Montague Rd, 249 Montague Rd and 194 Montague Rd, all price not disclosed. North Leverett Road had two recorded transfers: 158 North Leverett Rd ($350,000) and 363 North Leverett Rd (price not disclosed). The remaining four transactions, at Teawaddle Hill Road, Cushman Road, Long Plain Road and Dudleyville Road, were each the only recorded sale on their respective streets during the period.
MARKET NOTES Several of the recorded transfers in this period involved banks or mortgage-related entities as either grantor or grantee, including Homestar Mortgage Inc. and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. (grantors, 8 Teawaddle Hill Rd), Greenfield Cooperative Bank (grantee, 158 North Leverett Rd), Greenfield Savings Bank (grantee, 20 Cushman Rd, and grantor, 43 Long Plain Rd), Evergreen Bank Group (grantor, 249 Montague Rd) and T Bank (grantor, 150 Dudleyville Rd). The deed data does not indicate whether these reflect foreclosure proceedings, refinancing, or other transaction types, and no such determination is made here. One transfer, at 59 Montague Rd, was recorded from Carole J. Desanti, trustee, to the Desanti Hornstein Trust, an entity described in the deed as also a seller of record; the data does not specify a receiving grantee for that parcel. No square footage or property-type data was available for any of the nine transactions, so no price-per-square-foot or property-type comparisons can be made.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 31 | 150 Dudleyville Rd | T Bank | Luzi Patrice | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 194 Montague Rd | Rattner Nicholas C; Salvino Sheena | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 6 | 249 Montague Rd | Evergreen Bank Group | Freedman Renee E | Not disclosed |
| Aug 7 | 363 North Leverett Rd | Dupont Alan J | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 158 North Leverett Rd | Reich Peter Tr.; Gulick Susan P Tr. | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | $350,000 |
| Aug 10 | 20 Cushman Rd | Tuzzolo Gregory R | Greenfield Savings Bank | $58,700 |
| Aug 10 | 59 Montague Rd | Desanti Carole J Tr.; Desanti Hornstein Trust | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 10 | 43 Long Plain Rd | Greenfield Savings Bank | Goodridge Brian A | Not disclosed |
| Aug 13 | 8 Teawaddle Hill Rd | Homestar Mortgage Inc; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | Gould Donna Rae | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.