Tax Takings Dominate Orange Deed Filings as Open-Market Sales Stay Sparse
ORANGE -- Only three of 12 recorded deeds in Orange during the late July through late August period included disclosed sale prices, with six transfers going to the town for unpaid taxes, making it difficult to draw broad conclusions about open-market conditions.
- MARKET OVERVIEW
- Twelve deeds were recorded between July 31 and Aug. 29, 2026, but only three carried disclosed consideration amounts. Among those three, prices ranged from $10,000 to $139,000, with a median of $50,000. The low share of priced transactions, combined with a significant cluster of tax takings, limits what the data can reveal about arm's-length market activity during this period.
- TOP SALES
- The highest disclosed sale was 40 Winter St., which changed hands for $139,000 on Aug. 4. The seller was Lucio Remodeling Inc.; the buyers were Robert Assarian and Kevin Assarian. A condominium unit at 113 New Athol Rd., Unit 128, Pioneer Place Condo, sold for $50,000 on Aug. 4; the seller was Clifford Clark and Pioneer Place Condo, and the buyer was TD Bank NA. A third transaction, with no street address recorded in the deed data, sold for $10,000 on July 31; the seller was the estate of Rose M. Mumblow, represented by William E. Kelley as personal representative, and the buyer was David Smith.
- NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
- Brookside Road appeared twice in the dataset, at 85 Brookside Rd. and 160 Brookside Rd., though both were tax takings with no disclosed prices. All three priced sales were spread across distinct locations: Winter Street, New Athol Road, and an address not specified in the deed record. The remaining undisclosed transfers were distributed across Chase Street, Benham Street, Pleasant Street, Summit Street, Camp Road, Johnson Road, and Lake Mattawa Road, with no street showing more than one open-market transaction.
- MARKET NOTES
- Six of the 12 recorded deeds listed Orange Town Taxes as the buyer, indicating tax takings at 160 Chase St., 85 Brookside Rd., 64 Benham St., 160 Brookside Rd., 216 Pleasant St., and 58 Summit St. That volume of tax takings in a single recording period is a notable pattern in the data. The Pioneer Place Condo sale lists TD Bank NA as the buyer, which may reflect a lender-related transfer; no further detail is available from deed records. The $10,000 sale linked to an estate is consistent with estate settlement activity, though no address was recorded with that deed.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
Jul 27 - Aug 2
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 31 | (no address) | Kelley William E Pr; Mumblow Rose M Est | Smith David | $10,000 |
| Jul 31 | 40 Lake Mattawa Rd | Paul Lindsey M | Not disclosed |
Aug 3 - Aug 9
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 31 Camp Rd | Abbott Robert | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 4 | 40 Winter St | Lucio Remodeling Inc | Assarian Robert; Assarian Kevin | $139,000 |
| Aug 4 | 113 New Athol Rd Unit 128 Pioneer Place Condo | Pioneer Place Condo; Clark Clifford | Td Bank Na | $50,000 |
| Aug 4 | 41 Johnson Rd | Bonk Tyara; Solar Mosaic Inc | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 4 | 160 Chase St | Atherton Felicia N | Orange Town Taxes | Not disclosed |
| Aug 4 | 85 Brookside Rd | Soderman Peter A | Orange Town Taxes | Not disclosed |
| Aug 4 | 64 Benham St | Biggs Brian K | Orange Town Taxes | Not disclosed |
| Aug 4 | 160 Brookside Rd | Boudreau Steven J | Orange Town Taxes | Not disclosed |
| Aug 4 | 216 Pleasant St | Brown Melissa S | Orange Town Taxes | Not disclosed |
| Aug 4 | 58 Summit St | Buce Jennifer L; Buce Robert R | Orange Town Taxes | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.