Sunderland Sales Split Sharply Between Homes Under $100,000 And Over $700,000
SUNDERLAND -- Twelve properties changed hands in Sunderland between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12, according to Franklin County Registry of Deeds records, but only four of those transactions listed a sale price, ranging from $50,000 to $712,500.
MARKET OVERVIEW The registry recorded 12 property transfers in Sunderland during the four-week period. Only four listed a consideration amount: $50,000, $82,000, $710,000 and $712,500. The median among those four disclosed prices was $396,000. The other eight transfers, two-thirds of the total, were recorded without a sale price, which is common for certain deed types such as foreclosures, bank-to-buyer transfers, trust transfers and government transactions. Because so few prices were disclosed, the raw count of 12 recorded deeds provides only a partial picture of market activity for the period; it does not, on its own, indicate whether the period was active or quiet.
TOP SALES The highest-priced transaction was 90 North Plain Road, which sold for $712,500 on Aug. 17. Ellis S. Delphin and Helaine W. Delphin were the sellers; the buyer was the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
The second-highest sale was 250 North Main Street, which sold for $710,000 on Aug. 19. Christopher Moses and Chun Xue Hoa were the sellers; Michelle Markowski was the buyer.
At 9 Potyrala Cross Road, the property sold for $82,000 on Aug. 21. John S. Yokubaitis Jr. and Mary E. Yokubaitis were the sellers; Greenfield Savings Bank was the buyer.
The fourth disclosed sale was 61 Plumtree Road, which sold for $50,000 on Aug. 19. Nigel Brissett and Letha Brissett were the sellers; UMassFive College Federal Credit Union was the buyer.
No other sale recorded in the period listed a consideration amount. Bed, bath and square-footage figures were not available in the deed data for any property.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Two sales were recorded on Howard Hepburn Drive: 38 Howard Hepburn Drive on Aug. 19, sold by Lawrence G. Pion and Mona L. Pion as trustees, and 63 Howard Hepburn Drive on Aug. 17, sold by the Linda Phillips Lopatka Revocable Trust. Neither listed a sale price.
Two sales were recorded on Silver Lane: 16 South Silver Lane on Aug. 21 and 71 South Silver Lane on Aug. 19. Neither listed a sale price.
Among the four disclosed sales, two fell under $100,000 ($50,000 and $82,000) and two exceeded $700,000 ($710,000 and $712,500). No disclosed sale fell between those tiers.
MARKET NOTES Several transfers in the period involved financial institutions or government entities as buyer or seller. Greenfield Savings Bank was the buyer in the Potyrala Cross Road sale and the seller in the transfer of 46 Old Amherst Road to Old Amherst LLC. UMassFive College Federal Credit Union was the buyer at 61 Plumtree Road, and the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development was the buyer at 90 North Plain Road. The Franklin County Regional Housing Authority sold 71 South Silver Lane to Teresa M. Vona. Bank of America N.A. and First American Mortgage Solutions LLC, acting as attorneys, were listed as sellers of 16 South Silver Lane to Esther Rocasah and Philip Rocasah.
Two transfers involved trusts as sellers: 38 Howard Hepburn Drive and 63 Howard Hepburn Drive, both without a disclosed price. With eight of 12 deeds lacking a reported price, no reliable price-per-square-foot or property-type comparison can be drawn from this month's data.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17 | 90 North Plain Rd | Delphin Ellis S; Delphin Helaine W | Usa Housing Urban Development | $712,500 |
| Aug 17 | 69 Main St | Dickinson Richard E; Pleasant Kelly E | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 17 | 63 Howard Hepburn Dr | Linda Phillips Lopatka Revocable Trust; Lopatka Linda Phillips Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 18 | 46 Old Amherst Rd | Greenfield Savings Bank | Old Amherst LLC | Not disclosed |
| Aug 19 | 250 North Main St | Moses Christopher; Hoa Chun Xue | Markowski Michelle | $710,000 |
| Aug 19 | 61 Plumtree Rd | Brissett Nigel; Brissett Letha | Umassfive College Federal Credit Union | $50,000 |
| Aug 19 | 38 Howard Hepburn Dr | Pion Lawrence G Tr.; Pion Mona L Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 19 | 71 South Silver Ln | Franklin County Regional Housing Authority; Redevelopment A | Vona Teresa M | Not disclosed |
| Aug 20 | 41 Country Ln | Faust Courtney N; Faust Jessica Suzanne | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 21 | 9 Potyrala Cross Rd | Yokubaitis John S Jr.; Yokubaitis Mary E | Greenfield Savings Bank | $82,000 |
| Aug 21 | 16 S Silver Ln | Bank Of America Na By Atty; First American Mortgage Solutions LLC Atty | Rocasah Esther; Rocasah Philip | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 24 | 175 Russell St | Maes Sylvia Alice; Maes Sylvia | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.