Sign in Subscribe

Single Disclosed Sale Sets Bernardston's Only Known Price at $385,000

BERNARDSTON -- Eleven property transfers were recorded in Bernardston between Aug. 7 and Sept. 5, but only one deed disclosed a sale price, leaving most of the period's real estate activity undocumented in dollar terms.

MARKET OVERVIEW Eleven sales were recorded during the four-week period, averaging roughly two to three transactions per week. Of those, only one, the Aug. 28 sale of 20 Cross St., listed a consideration amount: $385,000. Because that is the only disclosed price, the recorded price range and median sale price are both $385,000, a single data point rather than a market-wide figure. With price information available for just 1 of 11 transactions, the underlying deed data cannot support a broader read on whether prices are rising or falling this period.

TOP SALES 20 Cross St. sold for $385,000 on Aug. 28. Seller Bradley C. Curtis transferred the property to buyers Terrell Owen Hicks and Brooke Cochran. It is the only transaction in the period with a disclosed sale price.

The remaining 10 transactions recorded during the period did not list a consideration amount: Bernardston (no street address given) transferred from T Bank to Sandri Realty Inc. on Aug. 27, price not disclosed. 10 Dewey St. transferred from Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. and Com LLC to Ruth Shipton Levy, trustee, and Stephen H. Nestanpower, trustee, on Aug. 26, price not disclosed. 43 Eden Trl. transferred from Athol Credit Union to Armen Papazian and Joseph Papazian on Aug. 25, price not disclosed. 247 Fox Hill Rd. transferred from sellers Michael W. Davis and Citizens Bank NA on Aug. 21, price not disclosed.

NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN South Street had two recorded transfers: 9 South St. (seller Dawn L. Barrett, Aug. 24) and 12 South St. (seller Greenfield Savings Bank to buyer McKenzie Property Management Inc., Aug. 7), both without disclosed prices. River Road and River Street each recorded a transfer at the same "190" house number on Aug. 13, one from sellers Devin Knechtel and Jocelyn Peters on River Road and one from sellers Irah W. Snow and Lois A. Snow on River Street; whether these refer to the same property or a street-naming distinction is not clear from the deed data. The remaining transactions, at 43 Eden Trail, 247 Fox Hill Road, 27 Gill Road, 42 West Mountain Road and 20 Cross Street, were each the only recorded sale on their respective streets during the period. With price disclosed for only one transaction, sales cannot be meaningfully grouped by price tier.

MARKET NOTES Financial institutions appear as sellers or buyers in several of the period's deeds: T Bank, Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., Athol Credit Union, Citizens Bank NA, UMassFive College Federal Credit Union and Greenfield Savings Bank all appear on one side of a transaction. The Gill Road deed lists UMassFive College Federal Credit Union as buyer, with Matthew and Emma Rogowski as sellers. The Dewey Street deed lists two grantees as trustees, Ruth Shipton Levy and Stephen H. Nestanpower, indicating a trust-based transfer; the deed data does not indicate the reason for the transfer. No square footage, bedroom or bathroom data was available for any property in this period's deed records, and no distinction between single-family, condominium or multi-family property types was provided.


Recorded Deeds

Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.

Aug 3 - Aug 9
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 712 South StGreenfield Savings BankMckenzie Property Management IncNot disclosed
Aug 10 - Aug 16
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 13190 River RdKnechtel Devin; Peters JocelynNot disclosed
Aug 13190 River StSnow Irah W; Snow Lois ANot disclosed
Aug 17 - Aug 23
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 1742 West Mt RdKilleen Matthew DNot disclosed
Aug 1927 Gill RdRogowski Matthew; Rogowski EmmaUmassfive College Federal Credit UnionNot disclosed
Aug 21247 Fox Hill RdDavis Michael W; Citizens Bank NaNot disclosed
Aug 24 - Aug 30
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 249 South StBarrett Dawn LNot disclosed
Aug 2543 Eden TrlAthol Credit UnionPapazian Armen; Papazian JosephNot disclosed
Aug 2610 Dewey StMortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Com LLCLevy Ruth Shipton Tr.; Nestanpower Stephen H Tr.Not disclosed
Aug 27(no address)T BankSandri Realty IncNot disclosed
Aug 2820 Cross StCurtis Bradley CHicks Terrell Owen; Cochran Brooke$385,000

Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.

Subscribe to Franklin County News

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe