Orange Deed Data Shows Sparse Pricing as Most August Sales Undisclosed
ORANGE -- Franklin County Registry of Deeds records show 12 property transfers in Orange between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12, but only three carried a disclosed sale price, leaving most of the period's activity unpriced in the public record.
MARKET OVERVIEW
Twelve deeds were recorded in Orange during the period. Of those, three disclosed a sale price, ranging from $60,000 to $100,000, with a median of $100,000. The other nine transfers, two-thirds of the total, listed no consideration amount, which is common for foreclosure-related deeds, bank-owned dispositions and certain municipal transfers but limits what can be concluded about overall market pricing. Based on raw count alone, 12 recorded transfers is a moderate volume for a one-month period, though the scarcity of price data makes it difficult to characterize the month as active or quiet in dollar terms.
TOP SALES
76 Harrison Ave. sold for $100,000 on Aug. 17. The seller was listed as Karen L. Merriam and Karen L. Willard, and the buyer was Workers Federal Credit Union.
65 Prentiss St. also sold for $100,000, recorded Aug. 17. The seller was Jennifer Rathburn, and the buyer was TD Bank NA.
68 West Orange Rd. sold for $60,000 on Aug. 14. The seller was David A. Whitmore, and the buyer was Workers Federal Credit Union.
The remaining nine transfers recorded in the period listed no disclosed sale price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
No street had more than one recorded sale during the period, so no street-level cluster emerged. By price tier, all three disclosed sales fell in the same range, $60,000 to $100,000, all involving a bank or credit union as buyer. The nine transfers with no disclosed price were spread across Walnut Hill Road, Pleasant Street, Mechanic Street, Russ Street, Camp Road, North Main Street, Chase Street and East Main Street, plus one deed listing only "Orange, MA" without a street address.
MARKET NOTES
All three sales with a disclosed price listed a bank or credit union as the buyer: Workers Federal Credit Union appeared twice, at 76 Harrison Ave. and 68 West Orange Rd., and TD Bank NA appeared once, at 65 Prentiss St. Several other transfers in the period listed mortgage-related entities as sellers rather than buyers, including Total Mortgage Services LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. at 276 Pleasant St., Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. and Rocket Mortgage LLC at 41 Russ St., and Operative Bank at 120 Mechanic St., each transferring to an individual buyer. One deed at 93 Camp Rd. transferred the property from Paul J. Lemay and Susan E. Lemay to Susan E. Lemay alone, a within-family transfer. Two properties, 160 Chase St. and 118 East Main St., were sold by the Orange Town Treasurer to individual and LLC buyers, respectively. One deed, recorded Aug. 18, listed only "Orange, MA" as the address, with Lane Construction Corp. as the seller and no buyer listed. No bedroom, bathroom or square-footage data was available for any property in this dataset, and no sale in the period exceeded $100,000 among those with disclosed pricing.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 14 | 68 West Orange Rd | Whitmore David A | Workers Federal Credit Union | $60,000 |
| Aug 14 | 160 Chase St | Orange Town Treasurer | Atherton Felicia N | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 118 East Main St | Orange Town Treasurer | Skb LLC | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17 | 76 Harrison Ave | Merriam Karen L; Willard Karen L | Workers Federal Credit Union | $100,000 |
| Aug 17 | 65 Prentiss St | Rathburn Jennifer | Td Bank Na | $100,000 |
| Aug 17 | 41 Russ St | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Rocket Mortgage LLC | Vega Michelle; Longeill Zach | Not disclosed |
| Aug 17 | 93 Camp Rd | Lemay Paul J; Lemay Susan E | Lemay Susan E | Not disclosed |
| Aug 17 | 215 North Main St | Workers Federal Credit Union; Workers Credit Union | Halfrey Matthew P | Not disclosed |
| Aug 18 | (no address) | Lane Construction Corp | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 18 | 120 Mechanic St | Operative Bank; Cook Matthew | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 19 | 277 Walnut Hill Rd | Usa Housing Urban Development By Atty; Networks Corp Atty | Haddock Yarelyn; Rosario Marcos Ramos | Not disclosed |
| Aug 19 | 276 Pleasant St | Total Mortgage Services LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | Mahoney Molly; Gartland Peter P Jr. | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.