Only One of Six August Deeds in Rowe Discloses a Sale Price
ROWE -- Six property transfers were recorded in Rowe during the four weeks ending Aug. 29, but only one deed disclosed a sale price, limiting the picture of local property values this period.
MARKET OVERVIEW The Franklin County Registry of Deeds recorded six transfers of property in Rowe between July 31 and Aug. 29. Only one of the six deeds disclosed a sale price: $15,740 for a Pine Hill Drive property acquired by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. With just one disclosed price, the price range and median sale price both stand at $15,740. The raw count of six recorded transfers is not necessarily comparable to the number of conventional home sales, since several of the transfers involved trusts, a mortgage company and a utility company rather than typical buyer-seller transactions.
TOP SALES The only transfer with a disclosed price was 5 Pine Hill Drive, which sold for $15,740 on Aug. 26; the property was conveyed by Douglas M. Upton to the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development. The remaining five recorded transfers had no sale price disclosed. At 127 County Road, CMG Mortgage Inc. and CMG Home Loans transferred the property to Edward J. Silva and Lori Ledger on Aug. 27. At 506 Tunnel Road and 488 Tunnel Road, the Cowie Investment Trust, with Bruce W. Cowie as trustee, transferred both properties to Bruce W. Cowie individually on Aug. 6. At 49 Cross Road, Timothy C. Snyder and Timothy Charles Snyder, as trustees, transferred the property on Aug. 6; no buyer was listed in the record. A sixth deed, recorded Aug. 25 with no street address given, transferred property from Massachusetts Electric Co.; no buyer was listed.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Tunnel Road accounted for two of the six recorded transfers, both dated Aug. 6, both moving property out of the Cowie Investment Trust and into Bruce W. Cowie's name directly. The remaining transfers were spread across individual streets: County Road, Pine Hill Drive, Cross Road, and one deed with no street address listed. No other street had more than one recorded transfer this period.
MARKET NOTES Trust and lender transfers made up a large share of the period's activity: three of the six deeds, all recorded Aug. 6, involved a trust as grantor, and a fourth, recorded Aug. 27, involved a mortgage company as grantor. Beds, baths and square footage were not available in the deed records for any property, and property type (single-family, condo or multi-family) was not specified. With only one of six transfers disclosing a sale price, this period's data is too limited to draw conclusions about pricing trends in Rowe.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 6 | 506 Tunnel Rd | Cowie Investment Trust; Cowie Bruce W Tr. | Cowie Bruce W | Not disclosed |
| Aug 6 | 488 Tunnel Rd | Cowie Investment Trust; Cowie Bruce W Tr. | Cowie Bruce W | Not disclosed |
| Aug 6 | 49 Cross Rd | Snyder Timothy C Tr.; Snyder Timothy Charles Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 25 | (no address) | Massachusetts Electric Co | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 26 | 5 Pine Hill Dr | Upton Douglas M | Usa Housing Urban Development | $15,740 |
| Aug 27 | 127 County Rd | Cmg Mortgage Inc; Cmg Home Loans | Silva Edward J; Ledger Lori | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.