Only one of eight recorded New Salem deeds discloses a sale price
NEW SALEM -- The Franklin County Registry of Deeds recorded eight property transfers in New Salem between Aug. 7 and Sept. 5, but only one listed a sale price, limiting what can be reported about the town's overall market conditions this period.
MARKET OVERVIEW Eight deeds were recorded in New Salem during the period. Of those, only one, the sale of 10 Branch Bridge Rd. for $116,000, included a disclosed consideration amount. Because seven of the eight transfers did not list a price, a meaningful price range or median cannot be calculated for the month as a whole. The $116,000 figure represents a single transaction, not a market-wide benchmark. Whether the period was active or quiet cannot be assessed from price data alone, though the raw count of eight recorded deeds indicates deed activity continued at a steady pace through the four-week window.
TOP SALES 10 Branch Bridge Rd. sold for $116,000 on Aug. 28. Seller David J. Mallet transferred the property to Athol Credit Union; price not disclosed for the remaining seven transfers, so no further ranking by price is possible. The other recorded transfers, in order of recording date, were: 28 Neilson Rd., sold Sept. 1, from TruNorth Bank to Frank A. Marz; 76 William Rice Rd., sold Aug. 31, from Citizens Bank NA to Eric K. Hamm and Gabriele H. Voelker; 80 Fay Rd., sold Aug. 31, from Victor M. Cordero Jr. to Velocity Investments LLC; and 82 North Spec Pond Rd., sold Aug. 31, transferred within the Gauvin family. Bed, bath and square-footage figures are not available from deed records.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN No street in New Salem recorded more than one sale during the period, so no street-level clustering emerged. Because only one transaction disclosed a price, sales cannot be grouped into price tiers either. The eight transfers were spread across Neilson Road, William Rice Road, Fay Road, North Spec Pond Road, Branch Bridge Road, Blackinton Road and Elm Street, plus one transfer with no street address listed in the data.
MARKET NOTES A bank, credit union, mortgage servicer or trustee bank appears as either the seller or buyer in five of the eight recorded transfers: 28 Neilson Rd. (TruNorth Bank as seller), 76 William Rice Rd. (Citizens Bank NA as seller), 10 Branch Bridge Rd. (Athol Credit Union as buyer), 100 Blackinton Rd. (New Residential Mortgage LLC and US Bank Trust NA as seller, with no buyer listed in the data), and 84 Elm St. (Cross River Bank as seller). The transfer at 82 North Spec Pond Rd. moved the property between Richard A. Gauvin and John E. Gauvin as individuals to Richard A. Gauvin and John E. Gauvin as trustees, an intra-family trust transfer; deed data does not indicate the reason for the transfer. One recorded transfer listed the Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation as seller with no street address or buyer named in the data. No sale in this period disclosed a price, address, and full party names together except the Branch Bridge Road transaction, which limits comparison of price per square foot or property type across the dataset since square footage and property-type fields are not part of deed records.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 12 | 84 Elm St | Cross River Bank | Russell Jeremy Owen | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 26 | (no address) | Massachusetts Comm Conservation Recreation | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 27 | 100 Blackinton Rd | New Residential Mortgage LLC By Atty; Us Bank Trust Na Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 28 | 10 Branch Bridge Rd | Mallet David J | Athol Credit Union | $116,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 31 | 76 William Rice Rd | Citizens Bank Na | Hamm Eric K; Voelker Gabriele H | Not disclosed |
| Aug 31 | 80 Fay Rd | Cordero Victor M Jr. | Velocity Investments LLC | Not disclosed |
| Aug 31 | 82 North Spec Pond Rd | Gauvin Richard A; Gauvin John E | Gauvin John E Tr.; Gauvin Richard A Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Sep 1 | 28 Neilson Rd | Trunorth Bank | Marz Frank A | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.