Sign in Subscribe

Only one of eight Charlemont deeds this period discloses a sale price

CHARLEMONT -- Eight property deeds were recorded in Charlemont between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12, according to Franklin County Registry of Deeds records, but only one transaction disclosed a sale price, leaving most of the period's market activity difficult to assess in dollar terms.

MARKET OVERVIEW

The registry recorded eight deed transfers in Charlemont during the period. Of those, only one, the sale of 14 East Hawley Road, listed a consideration amount: $200,000. That figure also stands as the period's price range (low to high) and its median, since it is the only disclosed price in the dataset. With seven of eight transfers showing no sale price, the raw count of eight recorded deeds does not, by itself, indicate whether the period was active or quiet in market terms; many of the transfers show characteristics associated with bank, credit union or corporate grantees rather than conventional owner-to-owner home sales.

TOP SALES

14 East Hawley Road sold for $200,000 on Aug. 24. Jean M. Brisson was the seller; the buyers were Franklin First Federal Credit Union and Greylock FCU. No other transactions in the period disclosed a sale price. Among the remaining seven, the following were recorded with no consideration amount: 112 Maxwell Road (sold Aug. 31, seller Florence Bank and Florence Savings Bank, buyer Amy M. Wales as trustee and the Wales Investment Trust); 9 Route 8A North (sold Aug. 28, seller Palmeri Properties LLC and Greenfield Cooperative Bank); 463 Maxwell Road (sold Aug. 26, seller William P. Baronas, buyer Massachusetts Electric Co.); and 187 Main Street (sold Aug. 26, seller David E. Sargent, buyer Greenfield Savings Bank).

NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN

Maxwell Road saw two recorded transfers: 112 Maxwell Road and 463 Maxwell Road, both closing within days of each other on Aug. 26 and Aug. 31. Main Street also had two: 187 Main Street (Aug. 26) and 168 Main Street (Aug. 24). The remaining transfers were scattered: 9 Route 8A North (Aug. 28), 1463 Route 2 (Aug. 18), and one parcel recorded with no street address tied to a transfer from Jacob Laukkanen to LVNV Funding LLC (Aug. 31). By price tier, only one transaction can be classified: 14 East Hawley Road falls under $500,000. The other seven cannot be sorted into price tiers because no consideration amount was recorded.

MARKET NOTES

Bed, bath and square-footage figures are not available in deed records and are omitted here. Several patterns are visible in the grantor/grantee data itself. Financial institutions appear as either seller or buyer in four of the eight transfers: Florence Bank and Florence Savings Bank as sellers at 112 Maxwell Road; Greenfield Cooperative Bank as a co-seller at 9 Route 8A North; Greenfield Savings Bank as buyer at 187 Main Street; and Franklin First Federal Credit Union and Greylock FCU as buyers at 14 East Hawley Road. One transfer involved a trust as buyer: Amy M. Wales as trustee of the Wales Investment Trust at 112 Maxwell Road. One transfer listed a utility company, Massachusetts Electric Co., as buyer at 463 Maxwell Road. One transfer listed LVNV Funding LLC, a debt-collection firm, as grantee. Three of the eight recorded deeds, at 9 Route 8A North, 168 Main Street and 1463 Route 2, list only a grantor with no corresponding grantee in the available data. Given that only one of eight transfers disclosed a sale price, this period's dataset offers limited visibility into Charlemont's conventional residential resale market.


Recorded Deeds

Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.

Aug 17 - Aug 23
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 181463 Route 2Olde Willow Inn LLCNot disclosed
Aug 24 - Aug 30
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 2414 East Hawley RdBrisson Jean MFranklin First Federal Credit Union; Greylock Fcu$200,000
Aug 24168 Main StBrown Pierceson J; Hetherington Sara VNot disclosed
Aug 26463 Maxwell RdBaronas William PMassachusetts Electric CoNot disclosed
Aug 26187 Main StSargent David EGreenfield Savings BankNot disclosed
Aug 289 Route 8A NPalmeri Properties LLC; Greenfield Cooperative BankNot disclosed
Aug 31 - Sep 6
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 31(no address)Laukkanen JacobLvnv Funding LLCNot disclosed
Aug 31112 Maxwell RdFlorence Bank; Florence Savings BankWales Amy M Tr.; Wales Investment TrustNot disclosed

Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.

Subscribe to Franklin County News

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe