Only One Of 13 Greenfield Home Sales Discloses Its Sale Price
GREENFIELD -- Thirteen properties changed hands in Greenfield between July 24 and Aug. 22, according to deeds recorded at the Franklin County Registry of Deeds, but only one transaction disclosed a sale price, limiting what the month's filings show about the local market.
MARKET OVERVIEW Franklin County Registry of Deeds records show 13 property sales in Greenfield during the period. Of those, only one transaction, at 335 Federal St., disclosed a sale price: $240,000. With just one disclosed price, that figure represents the low, the high and the median for the period; no meaningful price range or trend can be calculated from a single data point. The raw count of 13 recorded deeds is the only broad measure of transaction volume available from this dataset.
TOP SALES 335 Federal St. is the only transaction in the period with a disclosed sale price. The property sold for $240,000 on July 27. Seller Brian N. Dew transferred the property to Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. and Deephaven Mortgage LLC. No other recorded sale in the period included a disclosed consideration amount, so no additional transactions can be ranked by price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Shelburne Road accounted for two of the period's 13 sales, at 277 Shelburne Rd. and 97 Shelburne Rd.; neither transaction disclosed a price. No other street name repeats in the dataset. The remaining 11 sales were spread across individual addresses: Colrain Road, Conway Street, Summer Street, Prospect Avenue, Haywood Street, High Street, Deerfield Street, Silver Street, Briar Way and River Street. Because prices were disclosed for only one of the 13 sales, a breakdown by price tier is not possible from this data.
MARKET NOTES Ten of the 13 recorded sales listed a bank as the seller. Greenfield Savings Bank sold six properties: 702 Colrain Rd. to Michael J. and Angela J. McCarthy; 266 Conway St. to Lewis L. Lachance Jr. and Eleanor F. Lachance; 277 Shelburne Rd. to Mark J. and Linda S. Shea; 25 Summer St. to Christopher and Maureen Donelan; 21 Prospect Ave. to Pamela G. Adams and Elizabeth S. Mueller; and 68 Haywood St. to Sarah G. Mitchell and David T. Cramer. Greenfield Cooperative Bank sold three properties: 97 Shelburne Rd. to John G. Lord Jr. and Ruth S. Charney; 69 Briar Way to Megan E. Green and Julianne M. Jock; and 79 River St. to Brian J. Matteson. Florence Bank sold 435 Deerfield St. to Central Arts LLC. None of these ten bank-sold transactions disclosed a sale price.
Two other transactions involved sellers identified as trustees or individuals with no buyer listed in the available data. At 241 High St., the deed lists sellers Ashley R. Dennis Tr. and Robert M. Dennis Tr. At 128 Silver St., the deed lists sellers Nugent G. Williams and Gay Y. Williams. In both cases, no buyer name and no price were included in the record.
The Federal Street sale, the period's only priced transaction, listed Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. and Deephaven Mortgage LLC as buyers. No bedroom, bathroom or square footage figures were available for any property in this dataset, and the records did not distinguish single-family, condominium or multi-family property types.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 24 | 435 Deerfield St | Florence Bank | Central Arts LLC | Not disclosed |
| Jul 24 | 128 Silver St | Williams Nugent G; Williams Gay Y | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 24 | 97 Shelburne Rd | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | Lord John G Jr.; Charney Ruth S | Not disclosed |
| Jul 24 | 69 Briar Way | Greenfield Cooperative Bank; Operative Bank | Green Megan E; Jock Julianne M | Not disclosed |
| Jul 24 | 79 River St | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | Matteson Brian J | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 27 | 335 Federal St | Dew Brian N | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Deephaven Mortgage LLC | $240,000 |
| Jul 27 | 702 Colrain Rd | Greenfield Savings Bank | Mccarthy Michael J; Mccarthy Angela J | Not disclosed |
| Jul 27 | 266 Conway St | Greenfield Savings Bank | Lachance Lewis L Jr.; Lachance Eleanor F | Not disclosed |
| Jul 27 | 277 Shelburne Rd | Greenfield Savings Bank | Shea Mark J; Shea Linda S | Not disclosed |
| Jul 27 | 25 Summer St | Greenfield Savings Bank | Donelan Christopher; Donelan Maureen | Not disclosed |
| Jul 27 | 21 Prospect Ave | Greenfield Savings Bank | Adams Pamela G; Mueller Elizabeth S | Not disclosed |
| Jul 27 | 68 Haywood St | Greenfield Savings Bank | Mitchell Sarah G; Cramer David T | Not disclosed |
| Jul 27 | 241 High St | Dennis Ashley R Tr.; Dennis Robert M Tr. | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.