Sign in Subscribe

New Salem August Deed Data Thin as Six of Seven Sales Carry No Disclosed Price

NEW SALEM -- Seven property transfers were recorded in New Salem between July 31 and Aug. 29, 2026, but just one carried a disclosed consideration amount, limiting what the deed data can reveal about local market conditions this period.

  • MARKET OVERVIEW
  • Seven deeds were recorded during the period. With only one disclosed sale price, $116,000 at 10 Branch Bridge Rd., a meaningful price range, median, or market trend cannot be calculated from this dataset. The volume of seven transfers in roughly a month is modest for any municipality, and the near-total absence of disclosed prices is common when transactions involve lenders, trusts, or institutional parties rather than straightforward arm's-length sales between private buyers and sellers.
  • TOP SALES
  • The sole transaction with a disclosed price was 10 Branch Bridge Rd., which sold Aug. 28 for $116,000. Seller David J. Mallet conveyed the property to Athol Credit Union. The involvement of a credit union as grantee may indicate a financing-related transfer; the deed record does not specify the nature of the transaction beyond the parties and consideration amount.
  • NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
  • Two deeds were recorded on Blackinton Road or Blackington Road, possibly the same street with variant spellings in the registry: 100 Blackinton Rd., recorded Aug. 27, and 22 Blackington Rd., recorded Aug. 5. Two deeds were recorded on Elm St.: 84 Elm St., recorded Aug. 12, and 54 Elm St., recorded Aug. 6. Single transfers were recorded at 10 Branch Bridge Rd., 32 Orange Rd., and one parcel with no street address listed. All prices on Elm St., Blackinton/Blackington Rd., and Orange Rd. were not disclosed.
  • MARKET NOTES
  • Several transfers show institutional or trust-side sellers, including New Residential Mortgage LLC and U.S. Bank Trust NA at 100 Blackinton Rd., Cross River Bank at 84 Elm St., KeyBank NA at 32 Orange Rd., and Midland Funding LLC as buyer at 22 Blackington Rd. The Pamela E. Harris Trust transfer at 54 Elm St. follows a pattern common to estate or trust conveyances. One deed lists no street address, identifying only New Salem, MA, with the Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation as seller; no buyer name or price appears in the record. Because square footage data is unavailable from deed records, price-per-square-foot analysis cannot be performed.

Recorded Deeds

Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.

Jul 27 - Aug 2
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Jul 3132 Orange RdKeybank NaLatwis Jay MNot disclosed
Aug 3 - Aug 9
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 522 Blackington RdAmes Lynne; Ames Lynne FMidland Funding LLCNot disclosed
Aug 654 Elm StPamela E Harris Trust; Harris Pamela E Tr.Mccarthy Kirsten LNot disclosed
Aug 10 - Aug 16
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 1284 Elm StCross River BankRussell Jeremy OwenNot disclosed
Aug 24 - Aug 30
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 26(no address)Massachusetts Comm Conservation RecreationNot disclosed
Aug 27100 Blackinton RdNew Residential Mortgage LLC By Atty; Us Bank Trust Na Tr.Not disclosed
Aug 2810 Branch Bridge RdMallet David JAthol Credit Union$116,000

Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.

Subscribe to Franklin County News

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe