Montague August Home Sales Cluster at Low End of Price Range
MONTAGUE -- Deed activity in Montague during the August 2026 recording period logged 17 transactions, though only four carried disclosed sale prices, leaving the bulk of the month's market movement difficult to quantify. The four disclosed sales ranged from $100,000 to $178,500, pointing to the lower end of the regional pricing spectrum.
- MARKET OVERVIEW
- Seventeen deeds were recorded in Montague between July 31 and Aug. 29, 2026, but only four included a disclosed consideration amount. Among those four, prices ranged from $100,000 to $178,500, with a median sale price of $125,000. The low disclosure rate, 24 percent of total transfers, means the figures above reflect a narrow slice of the period's activity and should be interpreted with caution. The raw transaction count of 17 suggests a moderately busy recording period, though the nature of many transfers, including several involving banks and credit unions as buyers or sellers, indicates a significant share may represent foreclosure actions, loan-related conveyances, or institutional transfers rather than conventional arms-length sales.
- TOP SALES
- The highest disclosed price during the period was $178,500, paid for 23 Grout Cir. The deed lists Gail S. and Michael F. Lagoy as sellers and Rocket Mortgage LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. as buyers. The second-highest disclosed sale was 3 Emond Ave., which transferred for $150,000; Johanna Augusta Johnson and Johanna A. Johnson are listed as sellers, and Florence Bank is listed as buyer. Two properties, 9 Randall Rd. and 38 O St., each recorded at $100,000. The Randall Road deed lists Blake Jean and Blake Phillips as sellers and UMassFive College Federal Credit Union as buyer; the O Street deed lists Jacob M. Eugin as seller and Freedom Credit Union as buyer.
- NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
- Third Street recorded two transactions during the period, at 96 Third St. and 108 Third St., though neither carried a disclosed price. Turners Falls Road also saw two entries, at 190 Turners Falls Rd. and 492 Turners Falls Rd., both without disclosed prices. Among the four priced sales, two properties, 38 O St. and 9 Randall Rd., both came in at the $100,000 floor, while 3 Emond Ave. and 23 Grout Cir. landed in the $150,000-to-$178,500 range.
- MARKET NOTES
- A notable feature of this month's deed data is the prevalence of financial institutions on either side of transactions. Banks or credit unions appear as buyer or seller, or both, in at least eight of the 17 recorded deeds, including UMassFive College Federal Credit Union, Freedom Credit Union, Florence Bank, Greenfield Savings Bank, Greenfield Cooperative Bank, Cross River Bank, JPMorgan Chase Bank NA, and Rocket Mortgage LLC with Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. This pattern is common in deed data and can reflect foreclosure proceedings, deed-in-lieu arrangements, or refinancing-related conveyances; it does not necessarily represent conventional property sales. One entry, recorded Aug. 5, listed no street address, only the town of Montague, and has been noted but cannot be further characterized.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 31 | 492 Turners Falls Rd | Freedom Credit Union | Dwyer Carol A | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 3 Emond Ave | Johnson Johanna Augusta; Johnson Johanna A | Florence Bank | $150,000 |
| Aug 3 | 38 O St | Eugin Jacob M | Freedom Credit Union | $100,000 |
| Aug 3 | 108 Third St | Crosby William R | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 3 | 493 Federal St | Umassfive College Federal Credit Union | Hildonen Raymond H Jr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 3 | 11 Tenth St | Falceanu Veaceslav; First Generation Investment Group | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 5 | 23 Grout Cir | Lagoy Gail S; Lagoy Michael F | Rocket Mortgage LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $178,500 |
| Aug 5 | (no address) | Bouchard Denise J Est; Sokoloski Bonnie | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 5 | 131 Dry Hill Rd | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | Magrath Ml | Not disclosed |
| Aug 6 | 96 Third St | Tailor Ridge Reit LLC; Third LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 6 | 23 Unity St | Greenfield Savings Bank | Karasick Ira Barry | Not disclosed |
| Aug 6 | 40 Oakman St | Stevens Richard A; Stevens Lisa A | Cross River Bank | Not disclosed |
| Aug 7 | 9 Randall Rd | Jean; Phillips Blake | Umassfive College Federal Credit Union | $100,000 |
| Aug 7 | 144 Millers Falls Rd | Gilmore Kurt A; Gilmore Samantha | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 7 | 190 Turners Falls Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Jpmorgan Chase Bank Na | St Hilaire Shane R; St Hilaire Tatyana I | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 37 Central St | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Lakeview Loan Servicing LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 10 | 7 Thirteenth St | Ritz Nathalie M | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.