Home Sale Prices Range Widely in Orange, Median Holds at $60,000
ORANGE -- Sixteen property transfers were recorded in Orange during the four-week period from Aug. 7 to Sept. 5, with disclosed sale prices ranging from $10,500 to $228,000. Only 6 of the 16 recorded deeds included a stated consideration amount, meaning most transactions in the dataset carry no publicly disclosed price.
MARKET OVERVIEW
The Franklin County Registry of Deeds recorded 16 property transfers in Orange during the period. Of those, six listed a sale price, ranging from $10,500 to $228,000, with a median of $60,000 among the disclosed transactions. The remaining 10 transfers, 62.5% of the total, show no disclosed consideration amount, which is common in deed records and does not necessarily indicate a non-arm's-length transaction. No monthly sales baseline was provided for comparison, so the raw count of 16 transfers is reported here without characterization as busy or slow.
TOP SALES
211 Dana Rd sold for $228,000 on Aug. 10. The sellers were Genevieve C. Fraser and Douglas Harris (by attorney); the buyers were Rocket Mortgage LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc.
Three properties sold for $60,000 each. 68 West Orange Rd sold Aug. 14; the seller was David A. Whitmore and the buyer was Workers Federal Credit Union. 53 New Athol Rd sold Aug. 12; the sellers were Oreste C. Carbone Jr. and Oreste Carbone (by attorney), and the buyers were Sophia Cantrell, trustee, and JAS Realty Trust. 186 Magoon Rd sold Aug. 11; the sellers were Paul D. Raskevitz Jr. and Elise A. Raskevitz, and the buyer was TD Bank NA.
52 Congress St sold for $12,554 on Aug. 13. The sellers were Jessica Reske and Patrick Joseph Reske; the buyer was the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.
67 Logan Ave sold for $10,500 on Aug. 13. The sellers were Elwyn C. Hayden Jr. and Elaine Hayden; the buyers were Joseph A. Goody and Kristine N. Goody.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
No street in the dataset had more than one recorded sale during the period, so no street-level clustering emerged. Grouped by disclosed price tier: two sales fell under $50,000 (52 Congress St at $12,554 and 67 Logan Ave at $10,500); three sales fell in the $50,000-$100,000 range, all at $60,000 (68 West Orange Rd, 53 New Athol Rd and 186 Magoon Rd); and one sale exceeded $200,000 (211 Dana Rd at $228,000). The remaining 10 transfers, covering addresses including 160 Chase St, 118 East Main St, 76 Harrison Ave, 19 High St, 105 North Main St, 15 Tully Rd, 97 West Main St, 24 Rosemont Ave, 246 Holtshire Rd and 52 Pleasant St, had no disclosed price and are not included in the tier breakdown.
MARKET NOTES
Several transfers in the period involved institutional or governmental parties rather than sales between individuals alone. The Orange Town Treasurer was the seller on two properties, 160 Chase St and 118 East Main St, both recorded Aug. 14. Workers Federal Credit Union or Workers Credit Union appeared as a party, buyer or seller, in four separate transfers: 68 West Orange Rd, 76 Harrison Ave, 105 North Main St and 52 Pleasant St. The U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development appeared as both a buyer (52 Congress St) and a seller (15 Tully Rd). Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. appeared as a seller on 19 High St and as a co-buyer on 211 Dana Rd. One transfer, 97 West Main St, listed an estate and personal representative as sellers, consistent with an estate settlement. Deed records do not include property type, bedroom, bathroom or square-footage data, so no comparison of property types or price-per-square-foot could be made for this period.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 7 | 52 Pleasant St | Engele James R | Workers Federal Credit Union | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 211 Dana Rd | Fraser Genevieve C; Harris Douglas By Atty | Rocket Mortgage LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $228,000 |
| Aug 10 | 246 Holtshire Rd | Johnson Emily M | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 11 | 186 Magoon Rd | Raskevitz Paul D Jr.; Raskevitz Elise A | Td Bank Na | $60,000 |
| Aug 11 | 15 Tully Rd | Usa Housing Urban Development By Atty; Link Corp Atty | Lamontagne Gerard M; Lamontagne Alice J | Not disclosed |
| Aug 11 | 97 West Main St | Spooner Linda Lee Est; Spooner William A Pr | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 11 | 24 Rosemont Ave | Jackson Scott | Palmetto Solar LLC; Lightreach | Not disclosed |
| Aug 12 | 53 New Athol Rd | Carbone Oreste C Jr. By Atty; Carbone Oreste By Atty | Cantrell Sophia Tr.; Jas Realty Trust | $60,000 |
| Aug 12 | 19 High St | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Province Mortgage Associates Inc | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 12 | 105 North Main St | Workers Credit Union; Workers Federal Credit Union | Bergmann Andrew J | Not disclosed |
| Aug 13 | 52 Congress St | Reske Jessica; Reske Patrick Joseph | Usa Housing Urban Development | $12,554 |
| Aug 13 | 67 Logan Ave | Hayden Elwyn C Jr.; Hayden Elaine | Goody Joseph A; Goody Kristine N | $10,500 |
| Aug 14 | 68 West Orange Rd | Whitmore David A | Workers Federal Credit Union | $60,000 |
| Aug 14 | 160 Chase St | Orange Town Treasurer | Atherton Felicia N | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 118 East Main St | Orange Town Treasurer | Skb LLC | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 76 Harrison Ave | Workers Federal Credit Union; Workers Credit Union | Willard Geroge C F; Willard Karen L | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.