Hawley Sale Prices Range From $70,000 To $350,000 In August
HAWLEY -- Eleven property transfers were recorded in Hawley between July 31 and Aug. 29, but only three carried a disclosed sale price, according to Franklin County Registry of Deeds records, ranging from $70,000 to $350,000.
MARKET OVERVIEW Eleven deeds were recorded in Hawley during the period. Of those, three included a disclosed consideration amount, ranging from $70,000 to $350,000, with a median of $120,000 among the disclosed sales. The remaining eight transactions, several involving trusts, estates or financial institutions, did not list a sale price. Taken by raw count alone, 11 recorded transfers in a four-week span represents active deed activity for the small town, though with price data available for barely a quarter of transactions, the figures are too limited to characterize overall market direction.
TOP SALES The highest-priced transaction was 90 West Hawley Rd., which sold for $350,000 on Aug. 10. The sellers were Robin C. Clark and Wayne R. Clark; the buyer was Max A. Helmetag. The second-highest disclosed sale was 40 W Hill Rd., which sold for $120,000 on Aug. 12. The seller was Joseph N. Savoie Jr.; the buyers were T Bank and Traders Trust Co. The third disclosed sale was 81 Middle Rd., which sold for $70,000 on Aug. 24. The sellers were Duncan W. Gillan Tr. and Ruth S. Gillan Tr.; the buyer was Polish National Credit Union. The remaining eight recorded transfers did not include a disclosed sale price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN East Hawley Road recorded three transfers: 324 East Hawley Rd. (Aug. 28), 342 East Hawley Rd. (Aug. 14) and 324 E Hawley Rd. (Aug. 14). All three named Ashley and Drew Harrison as sellers or buyers, with Liberty Bank also named on the Aug. 14 transfer at 324 E Hawley Rd. West Hawley Road likewise recorded three transfers: 264 West Hawley Rd. (Aug. 18), 198 West Hawley Rd. (Aug. 6) and 90 West Hawley Rd. (Aug. 10), the period's top sale. West Hill Road recorded three transfers across two addresses: 28 West Hill Rd. (Aug. 20), 40 W Hill Rd. (Aug. 12, $120,000) and 40 West Hill Rd. (Aug. 6). The latter two involved the same parties, T Bank and Joseph N. and Linda M. Savoie, in transactions six days apart. Clark Road recorded one transfer, at 7 Clark Rd. (Aug. 20).
MARKET NOTES Deed records for this period include no bed, bath or square-footage data, so no price-per-square-foot comparisons are possible. Several transfers involved trusts or family members rather than sales between unrelated parties, including the Ullian family trust transfer at 7 Clark Rd., the Gormley Living Trust transfer at 264 West Hawley Rd., and the multiple Harrison-name transfers on East Hawley Road. Financial institutions, including T Bank, Traders Trust Co., Liberty Bank, Polish National Credit Union, Geneva Financial LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., appeared as a seller or buyer in five of the 11 recorded transactions. Only three of 11 deeds, about 27%, disclosed a sale price, which limits what can be concluded about pricing trends for the period as a whole.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 6 | 198 West Hawley Rd | Geneva Financial LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | Crowningshield Jocelyn; Leh Max | Not disclosed |
| Aug 6 | 40 West Hill Rd | T Bank | Savoie Joseph N Jr.; Savoie Linda M | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 90 West Hawley Rd | Clark Robin C; Clark Wayne R | Helmetag Max A | $350,000 |
| Aug 12 | 40 W Hill Rd | Savoie Joseph N Jr. | T Bank; Traders Trust Co | $120,000 |
| Aug 14 | 342 East Hawley Rd | Harrison Drew M; Harrison Ashley E | Harrison Drew | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 324 E Hawley Rd | Harrison Ashley E; Liberty Bank | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 18 | 264 West Hawley Rd | Gormley June A Tr.; Gormley Living Trust | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 20 | 7 Clark Rd | Ullian Frank; Ullian Sandra | Ullian Frank Tr.; Davidson Joshua E Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 20 | 28 West Hill Rd | Rice Gail | Clark Carla; Rice Thomas | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 24 | 81 Middle Rd | Gillan Duncan W Tr.; Gillan Ruth S Tr. | Polish National Credit Union | $70,000 |
| Aug 28 | 324 East Hawley Rd | Harrison Ashley; Harrison Drew | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.