Sign in Subscribe

Hawley Deed Sales Reveal Few Disclosed Prices Amid Nine August Transfers

HAWLEY -- Nine property deeds were recorded in Hawley between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12, but only one listed a sale price, leaving most of the period's transaction activity undisclosed in registry records.

MARKET OVERVIEW Nine deeds were recorded at the Franklin County Registry of Deeds for Hawley properties during the four-week period. Of those, only one, the sale of 81 Middle Road, listed a consideration amount: $70,000. The remaining eight transactions carried no disclosed price, which is common for family, trust and estate transfers. With price data available for just one of nine transfers, the period's price range and median both stand at $70,000, based on that single sale; there isn't enough disclosed pricing to characterize broader market values this period. Nine recorded transfers over four weeks is a moderate volume for a town the size of Hawley, though the raw count alone doesn't indicate whether that pace is faster or slower than typical without a historical baseline for comparison.

TOP SALES 81 Middle Road sold for $70,000 on Aug. 24, the only transaction in this period with a disclosed price. The sellers were listed as Duncan W. Gillan and Ruth S. Gillan, as trustees; the buyer was Polish National Credit Union. No other sale recorded between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12 included a consideration amount in registry records, so no additional transactions can be ranked by price this period.

NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Middle Road saw two transfers: 25 Middle Road, sold Sept. 8 with Charles R. and Paula J. MacLean as sellers, and 81 Middle Road, sold Aug. 24 for $70,000. East Hawley Road recorded three deeds within a two-week span: 342 East Hawley Road (Aug. 14), 324 East Hawley Road (Aug. 28) and 324 E Hawley Road (Aug. 14), all involving members of the Harrison family as sellers. The remaining four sales, at 26 Savoy Road, 7 Clark Road, 28 West Hill Road and 264 West Hawley Road, were each on separate streets with no other transfers reported in the period. Because only 81 Middle Road carried a disclosed price, no price-tier breakdown is possible for the rest.

MARKET NOTES Financial institutions were parties in three of the nine deeds: UMassFive College Federal Credit Union sold 26 Savoy Road to Dwight Eli; Polish National Credit Union bought 81 Middle Road; and Liberty Bank was listed alongside Ashley E. Harrison as a seller of 324 E Hawley Road. Several transfers appear to be within-family or trust transactions: at 7 Clark Road, Frank and Sandra Ullian transferred the property to Frank Ullian and Joshua E. Davidson as trustees; at 264 West Hawley Road, June A. Gormley transferred the property to the Gormley Living Trust; and at 342 East Hawley Road, Drew M. and Ashley E. Harrison transferred the property to Drew Harrison alone. Deed records for this period do not include property type, square footage or bedroom and bathroom counts, so no comparison on those measures is possible.


Recorded Deeds

Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.

Aug 10 - Aug 16
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 14342 East Hawley RdHarrison Drew M; Harrison Ashley EHarrison DrewNot disclosed
Aug 14324 E Hawley RdHarrison Ashley E; Liberty BankNot disclosed
Aug 17 - Aug 23
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 18264 West Hawley RdGormley June A Tr.; Gormley Living TrustNot disclosed
Aug 207 Clark RdUllian Frank; Ullian SandraUllian Frank Tr.; Davidson Joshua E Tr.Not disclosed
Aug 2028 West Hill RdRice GailClark Carla; Rice ThomasNot disclosed
Aug 24 - Aug 30
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 2481 Middle RdGillan Duncan W Tr.; Gillan Ruth S Tr.Polish National Credit Union$70,000
Aug 28324 East Hawley RdHarrison Ashley; Harrison DrewNot disclosed
Sep 7 - Sep 13
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Sep 825 Middle RdMaclean Charles R; Maclean Paula JNot disclosed
Sep 926 Savoy RdUmassfive College Federal Credit UnionDwight EliNot disclosed

Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.

Subscribe to Franklin County News

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe