Four Of Eleven Ashfield Sales Disclose Prices Ranging To $50,000
ASHFIELD -- Eleven property transfers were recorded in Ashfield between July 24 and Aug. 22, but only four listed a sale price, limiting what buyers and sellers can read into this month's market.
MARKET OVERVIEW The Franklin County Registry of Deeds recorded 11 property transfers in Ashfield during the period. Of those, four disclosed a sale price and seven did not. Among the disclosed sales, prices ranged from $18,641 to $50,000, with a median of $38,500. The raw count of 11 recorded transfers is the only volume figure available from this dataset; no prior-period data was provided for comparison, so this report does not characterize the period as active or quiet.
TOP SALES The highest-priced disclosed sale was an Ashfield property that sold for $50,000 on Aug. 12. BDLB Land Holdings LLC sold to William P. Ryan, trustee, and Jeanne M. Lightfoot, trustee. The property address was not specified in the deed record.
1530 Williamsburg Rd. sold for $47,000 on July 24. Nicole Drury and Christopher D. Drury sold to Florence Bank.
1277 Williamsburg Rd. sold for $30,000 on Aug. 12. Deborah A. Reed and Hollie J. Marron sold to Greenfield Savings Bank.
166 Ludwig Rd. sold for $18,641 on July 27. John D. McGann and Vanessa L. McGann sold to Greenfield Cooperative Bank.
Bed, bath and square footage figures were not available from deed records for any transaction.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Williamsburg Road accounted for two of the four disclosed sales, at 1277 Williamsburg Rd. ($30,000) and 1530 Williamsburg Rd. ($47,000), both recorded within the same period. All four disclosed sales fell between $18,641 and $50,000, with no transaction in this dataset priced above $50,000. The remaining seven properties, on Buckland Road, Apple Valley Road, Baptist Corner Road, Conway Road, Creamery Road, Hawley Road and Cape Street, changed hands without a disclosed price and cannot be placed into a price tier.
MARKET NOTES Banks appeared as the buyer of record in three of the four disclosed sales: Greenfield Cooperative Bank (166 Ludwig Rd.), Greenfield Savings Bank (1277 Williamsburg Rd.) and Florence Bank (1530 Williamsburg Rd.). Greenfield Cooperative Bank also appeared as a seller, on 1591 Conway Rd. Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. and Contour Mortgage Corp. were listed as sellers on 343 Apple Valley Rd. One deed, for 1790 Baptist Corner Rd., listed the same names, Cameron T. Davis and Holly M. Cain, as both grantor and grantee. Deed records do not indicate the reason for these transfers, and none is speculated here. No sale in the dataset had square footage or property-type data available to support further comparison.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 24 | 1530 Williamsburg Rd | Drury Nicole; Drury Christopher D | Florence Bank | $47,000 |
| Jul 24 | 1704 Cape St | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | Leue Emily W; Plumer Andrew | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 27 | 166 Ludwig Rd | Mcgann John D; Mcgann Vanessa L | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | $18,641 |
| Jul 27 | 1180 Hawley Rd | Cherdack Robert N Tr.; Cherdack Jean A Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 28 | 46 Creamery Rd | Chapman Zachariah J | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 5 | 1591 Conway Rd | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | Wiitanen Peter H | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 1790 Baptist Corner Rd | Davis Cameron T; Cain Holly M | Davis Cameron T; Cain Holly M | Not disclosed |
| Aug 11 | 343 Apple Valley Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Contour Mortgage Corp | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 12 | (no address) | Bdlb Land Holdings LLC | Ryan William P Tr.; Lightfoot Jeanne M Tr. | $50,000 |
| Aug 12 | 1277 Williamsburg Rd | Reed Deborah A; Marron Hollie J | Greenfield Savings Bank | $30,000 |
| Aug 14 | 197 Buckland Rd | Yargeau Michael R | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.