Colrain Sale Prices Span From $125,000 To $543,345 In August
COLRAIN -- Eleven property deeds were recorded in Colrain between Aug. 7 and Sept. 5, but only four carried a disclosed sale price. Those ranged from $125,000 to $543,345, with the period's highest-recorded transaction a $543,345 sale on Franklin Hill Road.
MARKET OVERVIEW
Eleven deeds were recorded in town during the period. Four of the 11 sales included a disclosed price: $125,000 for 38 Ed Clark Rd., $155,000 for 360 Wilson Hill Rd., $365,000 for 66 Reils Rd. and $543,345 for 207 Franklin Hill Rd. The median sale price among those four disclosed transactions was $260,000. The remaining seven transfers had no disclosed price, which is common in deed records involving lenders, trusts and estates. Eleven recorded transfers represents a notable volume of activity for a small town, though the dataset does not include prior-month figures to gauge whether this pace is typical for Colrain.
TOP SALES
207 Franklin Hill Rd. sold for $543,345 on Aug. 31, the highest disclosed price of the period. Sheryl L. Stanton was the seller; the buyers were Rocket Mortgage LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc.
66 Reils Rd. sold for $365,000 on Aug. 11. The sellers were Gary C. Warner, as trustee, and Sullivan Investment Trust; the buyer was John Madocks.
360 Wilson Hill Rd. sold for $155,000 on Aug. 24. Jason L. Canaday was the seller; the buyer was Greenfield Cooperative Bank.
38 Ed Clark Rd. sold for $125,000 on Aug. 14. The sellers were Thomas Hughes and Mariah Ladeau; the buyers were Jennifer Carcio and Marc Carcio.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
Three streets had more than one recorded transfer in the period. Main Road had two sales, at 122 Main Rd. (sold Sept. 1, price not disclosed) and 172 Main Rd. (sold Aug. 25, price not disclosed). Ed Clark Road also had two, at 259 Ed Clark Rd. (sold Aug. 21, price not disclosed) and 38 Ed Clark Rd. ($125,000). And the Reils area had two transfers sharing the same street number, 66 Reils Rd. ($365,000) and 66 Reils Ln. (sold Aug. 11, price not disclosed).
Among the four disclosed sale prices, three fell under $500,000: $125,000, $155,000 and $365,000. One sale, 207 Franklin Hill Rd., exceeded $500,000. The seven properties without a disclosed price were spread across Thompson Road, Jacksonville Road, Stranahan Drive, Ed Clark Road, Main Road and the Reils Road area.
MARKET NOTES
Several transfers in the period listed a bank or lending institution as either buyer or seller: Rocket Mortgage LLC (122 Main Rd. and 207 Franklin Hill Rd.), Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. (207 Franklin Hill Rd.), Greenfield Cooperative Bank (360 Wilson Hill Rd.), Franklin First Federal Credit Union (21 Stranahan Dr. and 184 Jacksonville Rd., as seller) and Florence Bank/Florence Savings Bank (172 Main Rd., as seller). The deed data does not specify whether these were foreclosure-related transfers, but the recurrence of lender names among the recorded parties is a pattern in this period's records.
Two transfers, at 66 Reils Rd. and 66 Reils Ln., both listed a Sullivan family entity as seller, one a trust and one an estate. One deed, for 271 Thompson Rd., listed Colrain Town Assessors as seller with no buyer or price recorded. Bed, bath and square-footage figures were not available from deed records for any of the 11 transfers, so no price-per-square-foot comparisons can be made.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 11 | 66 Reils Rd | Warner Gary C Tr.; Sullivan Investment Trust | Madocks John | $365,000 |
| Aug 11 | 66 Reils Ln | Sullivan John F Est | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 14 | 38 Ed Clark Rd | Hughes Thomas; Ladeau Mariah | Carcio Jennifer; Carcio Marc | $125,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 21 | 259 Ed Clark Rd | Culver Ronald A Jr.; Culver Janette | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 24 | 360 Wilson Hill Rd | Canaday Jason L | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | $155,000 |
| Aug 25 | 172 Main Rd | Florence Bank; Florence Savings Bank | Peterson Warren J | Not disclosed |
| Aug 25 | 184 Jacksonville Rd | Franklin First Federal Credit Union | Hartnett Laura; Hartnett Kyle | Not disclosed |
| Aug 26 | 271 Thompson Rd | Colrain Town Assessors | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 31 | 207 Franklin Hill Rd | Stanton Sheryl L | Rocket Mortgage LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $543,345 |
| Aug 31 | 21 Stranahan Dr | Franklin First Federal Credit Union | Rockstroh Richard D; Rockstroh Vicky E | Not disclosed |
| Sep 1 | 122 Main Rd | Wells Cynthia J; Alward Cynthia J | Rocket Mortgage LLC | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.