Sign in Subscribe

Colrain sale prices range widely from $57,294 to $365,000 in past month

COLRAIN -- The Franklin County Registry of Deeds recorded 11 property transfers in Colrain between July 24 and August 22, but only three included a disclosed sale price, limiting what the data shows about current market values.

MARKET OVERVIEW Eleven deeds were recorded in the town during the period. Of those, three disclosed a sale price, ranging from $57,294 to $365,000, with a median of $125,000 based on the three disclosed figures. The remaining eight transfers, including bank, agency and municipal transactions along with several family transfers, were recorded without a consideration amount, which is standard for many deed types and does not necessarily reflect the properties' market value. Eleven sales is a notable volume for Colrain in a single month, but with price data disclosed for barely a quarter of transactions, the raw count alone should not be read as a signal of market strength or weakness.

TOP SALES 66 Reils Rd sold for $365,000 on Aug. 11. The sellers were Gary C. Warner, trustee, and Sullivan Investment Trust; the buyer was John Madocks.

38 Ed Clark Rd sold for $125,000 on Aug. 14. The sellers were Thomas Hughes and Mariah Ladeau; the buyers were Jennifer and Marc Carcio.

17 Coombs Hill Rd sold for $57,294 on July 31. The sellers were Adam W. and Alysia Phillips; the buyers were Amerisave Mortgage Corp. and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc.

The remaining eight transactions recorded during the period did not disclose a sale price.

NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Two deeds were recorded for addresses on Reils Road and Reils Lane, both on Aug. 11: 66 Reils Rd sold for $365,000, while 66 Reils Ln, with a seller listed as the Estate of John F. Sullivan, did not disclose a price. No other street had more than one recorded transaction in the period.

By price tier among disclosed sales: one transaction fell under $100,000 (17 Coombs Hill Rd, $57,294), one fell in the $100,000-$500,000 range ($125,000 at 38 Ed Clark Rd), and one exceeded $300,000 ($365,000 at 66 Reils Rd). No sale in the disclosed group topped $1 million.

MARKET NOTES Six of the 11 recorded transfers involved a bank, mortgage company or government entity as either buyer or seller. Greenfield Savings Bank was the seller on two deeds, 315 West Leyden Rd and 120 Franklin Hill Rd. T Bank was the seller at 289 Jacksonville Rd, and the Massachusetts Housing Finance Agency was the seller at 13 Greenfield Rd. Colrain Town Assessors was the seller at 271 Thompson Rd. At 17 Coombs Hill Rd, the buyers were Amerisave Mortgage Corp. and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. None of these six deeds disclosed a sale price.

Two additional transfers appear to be within the same family: 360 Wilson Hill Rd, where Jason L. and Kendra L. Canaday transferred the property to Jason L. Canaday, and a Colrain property where Russell J. Ryan transferred to Alexander M. and Francis F. Ryan. Neither disclosed a price. No bed, bath or square footage data was available from the deed records for any property in this period.


Recorded Deeds

Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.

Jul 27 - Aug 2
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Jul 27120 Franklin Hill RdGreenfield Savings BankSacco Laura Ellen; Rauch Everett MNot disclosed
Jul 30(no address)Ryan Russell JRyan Alexander M; Ryan Francis FNot disclosed
Jul 3117 Coombs Hill RdPhillips Adam W; Phillips AlysiaAmerisave Mortgage Corp; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc$57,294
Jul 31289 Jacksonville RdT BankMurphy Roberta; Piana DennisNot disclosed
Aug 3 - Aug 9
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 3271 Thompson RdColrain Town AssessorsGriswold David E; Griswold Carol JNot disclosed
Aug 413 Greenfield RdMassachusetts Housing Finance AgencyHubbard Debra J; Tetreault Jeffrey ANot disclosed
Aug 5360 Wilson Hill RdCanaday Jason L; Canaday Kendra LCanaday Jason LNot disclosed
Aug 6315 West Leyden RdGreenfield Savings BankKane Karen KNot disclosed
Aug 10 - Aug 16
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 1166 Reils RdWarner Gary C Tr.; Sullivan Investment TrustMadocks John$365,000
Aug 1166 Reils LnSullivan John F EstNot disclosed
Aug 1438 Ed Clark RdHughes Thomas; Ladeau MariahCarcio Jennifer; Carcio Marc$125,000

Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.

Subscribe to Franklin County News

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe