Colrain Home Prices Range From $55,200 To $543,345 In Latest Sales
COLRAIN -- Twelve properties changed hands in Colrain between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12, according to deeds recorded at the Franklin County Registry of Deeds, though a sale price was disclosed in only four of those transactions.
MARKET OVERVIEW
The registry recorded 12 deed transfers in Colrain during the four-week period. Of those, four listed a sale price, ranging from $55,200 to $543,345, with a median of $140,000. The remaining eight deeds did not disclose consideration amounts, which is common for certain deed types, including bank-related transfers and transfers among family members. Based on the raw count alone, 12 recorded transfers over four weeks represents a moderate level of activity for a small town the size of Colrain, though the low rate of price disclosure, just four of 12, limits any conclusion about total dollar volume moving through the market this period.
TOP SALES
The highest-priced transaction was 207 Franklin Hill Rd., which sold for $543,345 on Aug. 31. Seller Sheryl L. Stanton transferred the property to Rocket Mortgage LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. Beds, baths and square footage were not available in the deed record.
The second-highest disclosed sale was 360 Wilson Hill Rd., which sold for $155,000 on Aug. 24. Jason L. Canaday was the seller; the buyer was Greenfield Cooperative Bank.
At 38 Ed Clark Rd., the property sold for $125,000 on Aug. 14. Sellers Thomas Hughes and Mariah Ladeau transferred the property to Jennifer and Marc Carcio.
A fourth disclosed sale, listed only as a Colrain property without a specific street address, sold for $55,200 on Sept. 2. Louis Steiner III was the seller; the buyer was Greenfield Savings Bank.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
Ed Clark Road saw the most activity of any street, with three separate deed transfers recorded during the period: 38 Ed Clark Rd. ($125,000, disclosed), 224 Ed Clark Rd. (price not disclosed) and 259 Ed Clark Rd. (price not disclosed). Main Road also saw two transfers, at 122 Main Rd. and 172 Main Rd., both with prices not disclosed. Among the four sales with disclosed prices, one fell above $500,000 (207 Franklin Hill Rd.) and three fell below $160,000 (360 Wilson Hill Rd., 38 Ed Clark Rd., and the unaddressed Colrain sale), with no disclosed sales in the $160,000-to-$500,000 range this period.
MARKET NOTES
Deed records show several transfers involving financial institutions as either buyer or seller. Franklin First Federal Credit Union was the seller in two transactions, at 21 Stranahan Dr. and 184 Jacksonville Rd. Florence Bank and Florence Savings Bank were the seller at 172 Main Rd. Rocket Mortgage LLC was the buyer in two transactions, at 122 Main Rd. and 207 Franklin Hill Rd. T Bank was the seller at 224 Ed Clark Rd. In two other transactions, the buyer was itself a bank: Greenfield Savings Bank acquired the Colrain property sold by Louis Steiner III, and Greenfield Cooperative Bank acquired 360 Wilson Hill Rd. from Jason L. Canaday. None of these prices were disclosed.
One transaction, at 105 Hillman Rd., involved a shared surname on both sides of the deed: sellers W. Thomas Griffin and Barbara Lawson Griffin transferred the property to Jason Thomas Griffin and Bryan Thomas Griffin. The price was not disclosed.
The deed for 271 Thompson Rd. listed Colrain Town Assessors as the seller, with no buyer named in the record. The deed for 259 Ed Clark Rd. listed Ronald A. Culver Jr. and Janette Culver as sellers, with no buyer named. No bed, bath, square footage or property-type data was available in any of the 12 deed records for this period.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 14 | 38 Ed Clark Rd | Hughes Thomas; Ladeau Mariah | Carcio Jennifer; Carcio Marc | $125,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 21 | 259 Ed Clark Rd | Culver Ronald A Jr.; Culver Janette | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 24 | 360 Wilson Hill Rd | Canaday Jason L | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | $155,000 |
| Aug 25 | 172 Main Rd | Florence Bank; Florence Savings Bank | Peterson Warren J | Not disclosed |
| Aug 25 | 184 Jacksonville Rd | Franklin First Federal Credit Union | Hartnett Laura; Hartnett Kyle | Not disclosed |
| Aug 26 | 271 Thompson Rd | Colrain Town Assessors | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 31 | 207 Franklin Hill Rd | Stanton Sheryl L | Rocket Mortgage LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $543,345 |
| Aug 31 | 21 Stranahan Dr | Franklin First Federal Credit Union | Rockstroh Richard D; Rockstroh Vicky E | Not disclosed |
| Sep 1 | 122 Main Rd | Wells Cynthia J; Alward Cynthia J | Rocket Mortgage LLC | Not disclosed |
| Sep 2 | (no address) | Steiner Louis III | Greenfield Savings Bank | $55,200 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 9 | 224 Ed Clark Rd | T Bank | Shippee Patrick; Shippee Carol | Not disclosed |
| Sep 11 | 105 Hillman Rd | Griffin W Thomas; Griffin Barbara Lawson | Griffin Jason Thomas; Griffin Bryan Thomas | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.