Sign in Subscribe

Colrain August Sales Range From $57,294 To $365,000 With Median At $140,000

COLRAIN -- Twelve property transfers were recorded in Colrain between July 31 and Aug. 25, but only four carried a disclosed sale price, and eight of the 12 involved a bank, credit union, mortgage company or government entity as either seller or buyer.

MARKET OVERVIEW Twelve deeds were recorded in the four-week period. Of those, four disclosed a sale price, ranging from $57,294 to $365,000, with a median of $140,000 among the disclosed sales. Twelve recorded transfers is a notable volume of activity for a small town in a single month, but with two-thirds of the transactions lacking a disclosed price, the raw count alone does not indicate whether the underlying market was active or quiet in price terms.

TOP SALES The highest-priced transaction was 66 Reils Road, which sold for $365,000 on Aug. 11. The seller was Gary C. Warner, as trustee of the Sullivan Investment Trust; the buyer was John Madocks. At 360 Wilson Hill Road, Jason L. Canaday sold the property to Greenfield Cooperative Bank for $155,000 on Aug. 24. At 38 Ed Clark Road, Thomas Hughes and Mariah Ladeau sold to Jennifer Carcio and Marc Carcio for $125,000 on Aug. 14. The lowest disclosed sale was 17 Coombs Hill Road, which Adam W. Phillips and Alysia Phillips sold to AmeriSave Mortgage Corp. and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. for $57,294 on July 31.

NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Three streets had two recorded transfers apiece. Ed Clark Road saw two: 38 Ed Clark Road, which sold for $125,000, and 259 Ed Clark Road, recorded Aug. 21 with a seller of Ronald A. Culver Jr. and Janette Culver and no buyer listed in the deed data; its price was not disclosed. Jacksonville Road also had two transfers, both without disclosed prices: 184 Jacksonville Road, sold by Franklin First Federal Credit Union to Laura Hartnett and Kyle Hartnett on Aug. 25, and 289 Jacksonville Road, sold by T Bank to Roberta Murphy and Dennis Piana on July 31. The Reils Road and Reils Lane addresses, both numbered 66, each saw one transfer, both recorded Aug. 11: the $365,000 Reils Road sale noted above, and 66 Reils Lane, sold by the Estate of John F. Sullivan with no buyer listed and no price disclosed. The remaining six transfers were single sales on separate streets: 172 Main Road, 315 West Leyden Road, 13 Greenfield Road and 271 Thompson Road, none of which disclosed a price. Among the four disclosed prices, one exceeded $300,000, two fell between $100,000 and $200,000, and one was under $100,000.

MARKET NOTES Eight of the 12 recorded transfers involved a bank, credit union, mortgage company or government agency as grantor or grantee rather than two private individuals. Sellers included Florence Bank and Florence Savings Bank, Franklin First Federal Credit Union, Greenfield Savings Bank, the Massachusetts Housing Finance Agency, the Colrain Town Assessors and T Bank. Buyers included Greenfield Cooperative Bank and the pairing of AmeriSave Mortgage Corp. and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. Separately, the two Reils Road and Reils Lane transfers, both recorded the same day, involved a trust and an estate connected to the Sullivan name; deed records do not indicate why the transfers occurred on the same date. Bed, bath and square-footage figures are not part of the deed record and are not available for any of the 12 properties, so no price-per-square-foot or property-type comparisons can be made from this dataset.


Recorded Deeds

Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.

Jul 27 - Aug 2
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Jul 3117 Coombs Hill RdPhillips Adam W; Phillips AlysiaAmerisave Mortgage Corp; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc$57,294
Jul 31289 Jacksonville RdT BankMurphy Roberta; Piana DennisNot disclosed
Aug 3 - Aug 9
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 3271 Thompson RdColrain Town AssessorsGriswold David E; Griswold Carol JNot disclosed
Aug 413 Greenfield RdMassachusetts Housing Finance AgencyHubbard Debra J; Tetreault Jeffrey ANot disclosed
Aug 6315 West Leyden RdGreenfield Savings BankKane Karen KNot disclosed
Aug 10 - Aug 16
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 1166 Reils RdWarner Gary C Tr.; Sullivan Investment TrustMadocks John$365,000
Aug 1166 Reils LnSullivan John F EstNot disclosed
Aug 1438 Ed Clark RdHughes Thomas; Ladeau MariahCarcio Jennifer; Carcio Marc$125,000
Aug 17 - Aug 23
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 21259 Ed Clark RdCulver Ronald A Jr.; Culver JanetteNot disclosed
Aug 24 - Aug 30
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 24360 Wilson Hill RdCanaday Jason LGreenfield Cooperative Bank$155,000
Aug 25172 Main RdFlorence Bank; Florence Savings BankPeterson Warren JNot disclosed
Aug 25184 Jacksonville RdFranklin First Federal Credit UnionHartnett Laura; Hartnett KyleNot disclosed

Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.

Subscribe to Franklin County News

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe