Sign in Subscribe

Charlemont Sale Prices Span $25,000 to $200,000 as Median Holds at $62,500

CHARLEMONT -- Nine properties changed hands in Charlemont between July 31 and Aug. 29, according to Franklin County Registry of Deeds records, but sale prices were disclosed in only three of those transactions, limiting a full picture of the month's market.

MARKET OVERVIEW

The registry recorded nine property transfers during the period. Among the three transactions with disclosed prices, sales ranged from $25,000 to $200,000, with a median of $62,500. Nine recorded transactions in a single month is a comparatively high count for a town of Charlemont's size, pointing to steady turnover. However, with six of nine sales showing no disclosed consideration amount, a price not disclosed, comparisons of overall property values across the full set of transactions are not possible from this data alone.

TOP SALES

The three sales with disclosed prices, in descending order

14 East Hawley Road sold for $200,000 on Aug. 24. The seller was Jean M. Brisson; the buyers were listed as Franklin First Federal Credit Union and Greylock FCU.

A Charlemont property sold for $62,500 on Aug. 21. The seller was Virtual Land Club LLC; the buyer was Gary Kochapski.

168 Main Street sold for $25,000 on Aug. 24. The sellers were Pierceson J. Brown and Sara V. Hetherington; the buyers were listed as Member Advantage Mortgage and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc.

Bed, bath and square-footage figures are not available in deed records and are omitted.

NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN

No two sales in this period shared the same street name. The three transactions with disclosed prices, at East Hawley Road, Main Street and an unspecified Charlemont address, all fell under $500,000. The remaining six transactions, for which no price was disclosed, involved properties on Route 2, South River Road, West Oxbow Road, Avery Brook Road, Heath Road and Hawk Hill Road.

MARKET NOTES

Two transactions recorded on the same day, Aug. 6, involved the same grantor: Edward A. Bimbo transferred 24 Avery Brook Road as trustee of the Bimbo Investment Trust, and separately transferred 24 Heath Road, as an individual, to himself and the Bimbo Investment Trust as trustee. Neither transaction disclosed a price.

A third transaction, at 79 Hawk Hill Road, transferred the property from Jonah A. Keane, as trustee of the Peter A. Kerr Trust, to Jonah A. Keane and Charis W. Keane as individuals. No price was disclosed.

Financial institutions appeared as parties in three of the nine transactions: Franklin First Federal Credit Union and Greylock FCU as buyers at 14 East Hawley Road, Member Advantage Mortgage and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. as buyers at 168 Main Street, and Florence Bank and Florence Savings Bank as sellers at 60 South River Road, where the buyers were William and Jessica Musiak.

Square footage was not available for any of the nine transactions, so no price-per-square-foot comparisons can be made. Deed records also do not indicate whether the properties are single-family homes, condominiums or multi-family units.


Recorded Deeds

Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.

Aug 3 - Aug 9
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 379 Hawk Hill RdKeane Jonah A Tr.; Peter A Kerr TrustKeane Jonah A; Keane Charis WNot disclosed
Aug 624 Avery Brook RdBimbo Edward A Tr.; Bimbo Investment TrustNot disclosed
Aug 624 Heath RdBimbo Edward ABimbo Edward A Tr.; Bimbo Investment TrustNot disclosed
Aug 10 - Aug 16
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 10136 West Oxbow RdOstergren Mark E; Pierce Sharon OPine Hill Property TrustNot disclosed
Aug 1160 South River RdFlorence Bank; Florence Savings BankMusiak William; Musiak JessicaNot disclosed
Aug 17 - Aug 23
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 181463 Route 2Olde Willow Inn LLCNot disclosed
Aug 21(no address)Virtual Land Club LLCKochapski Gary$62,500
Aug 24 - Aug 30
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 2414 East Hawley RdBrisson Jean MFranklin First Federal Credit Union; Greylock Fcu$200,000
Aug 24168 Main StBrown Pierceson J; Hetherington Sara VMember Advantage Mortgage; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc$25,000

Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.

Subscribe to Franklin County News

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe