Charlemont sale prices range widely as most August deeds go undisclosed
CHARLEMONT -- Ten properties changed hands in Charlemont between Aug. 7 and Sept. 5, according to Franklin County Registry of Deeds records, but sale prices were disclosed in only four of those transactions.
MARKET OVERVIEW The registry recorded 10 sales during the period. Among the four transactions with disclosed prices, sale amounts ranged from $62,500 to $336,000, with a median of $150,000. Six of the 10 recorded deeds did not include a disclosed consideration amount, which is common for certain deed types and does not necessarily indicate a private sale price. Based on the raw count, deed activity was moderate for the period, though the high proportion of undisclosed prices limits a full picture of market values.
TOP SALES The highest-priced disclosed sale was 9 Route 8A N, which sold for $336,000 on Aug. 28. The seller was Palmeri Properties LLC and the buyer was Greenfield Cooperative Bank. The second-highest disclosed sale was 14 East Hawley Rd, which sold for $200,000 on Aug. 24; the seller was Jean M. Brisson and the buyers were Franklin First Federal Credit Union and Greylock Federal Credit Union. The third-highest disclosed sale was 112 Maxwell Rd, which sold for $100,000 on Aug. 26; the seller was Amy Wales, trustee of the Wales Investment Trust, and the buyer was Florence Bank. The fourth disclosed sale, an unaddressed Charlemont parcel, sold for $62,500 on Aug. 21; the seller was Virtual Land Club LLC and the buyer was Gary Kochapski. Bed, bath and square-footage figures are not available from deed records.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Maxwell Road saw two recorded transfers during the period: 112 Maxwell Rd, which sold for $100,000, and 463 Maxwell Rd, for which no price was disclosed. Main Street also saw two transfers, at 187 Main St. and 168 Main St., neither with a disclosed price. Of the four disclosed-price sales, three fell in the under-$500,000 tier ($62,500 to $200,000) and one, the 9 Route 8A N sale, approached but did not exceed that threshold at $336,000. No sales in the dataset exceeded $500,000.
MARKET NOTES Several transactions in the period involved banks or credit unions as either buyer or seller, including the 9 Route 8A N sale to Greenfield Cooperative Bank, the 112 Maxwell Rd sale to Florence Bank, the 187 Main St. sale to Greenfield Savings Bank, the 14 East Hawley Rd sale to Franklin First Federal Credit Union and Greylock FCU, and the 60 South River Rd sale from Florence Bank and Florence Savings Bank to William and Jessica Musiak. The 112 Maxwell Rd transfer originated from a trust (Wales Investment Trust), and the 136 West Oxbow Rd property transferred into a trust (Pine Hill Property Trust). Square footage and property-type data were not available in the deed records to assess price-per-square-foot patterns or the single-family versus multi-family mix.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 136 West Oxbow Rd | Ostergren Mark E; Pierce Sharon O | Pine Hill Property Trust | Not disclosed |
| Aug 11 | 60 South River Rd | Florence Bank; Florence Savings Bank | Musiak William; Musiak Jessica | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 18 | 1463 Route 2 | Olde Willow Inn LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 21 | (no address) | Virtual Land Club LLC | Kochapski Gary | $62,500 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 24 | 14 East Hawley Rd | Brisson Jean M | Franklin First Federal Credit Union; Greylock Fcu | $200,000 |
| Aug 24 | 168 Main St | Brown Pierceson J; Hetherington Sara V | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 26 | 112 Maxwell Rd | Wales Amy Tr.; Wales Investment Trust | Florence Bank | $100,000 |
| Aug 26 | 463 Maxwell Rd | Baronas William P | Massachusetts Electric Co | Not disclosed |
| Aug 26 | 187 Main St | Sargent David E | Greenfield Savings Bank | Not disclosed |
| Aug 28 | 9 Route 8A N | Palmeri Properties LLC | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | $336,000 |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.