Shutesbury Deed Prices Range Widely From $500 To $100,000 In July
SHUTESBURY -- Twelve property transfers were recorded in Shutesbury between July 10 and Aug. 8, but only four listed a sale price, leaving most of the month's activity outside public view. Among the disclosed sales, prices ranged from $500 to $100,000.
MARKET OVERVIEW
The Franklin County Registry of Deeds recorded 12 Shutesbury property transfers during the period, but only four disclosed a sale price: $500, $22,000, $25,000 and $100,000. Based on those four figures, the median sale price was $23,500. With two-thirds of the month's transactions carrying no disclosed price, the raw count of 12 transfers does not by itself indicate how active the broader sales market was; buyers and sellers of the other eight properties, along with their sale terms, were reported to the registry without a stated consideration amount.
TOP SALES
77 Baker Rd. sold for $100,000 on July 20. Carrie Ann Myers was the seller; UMassFive College Federal Credit Union was the buyer.
449 Montague Rd. sold for $25,000 on July 22. Erin E. Jacque was the seller; UMassFive College Federal Credit Union was the buyer.
517 W Pelham Rd. sold for $22,000 on July 13. Suzanne C. Palmer was the seller; UMassFive College Federal Credit Union was the buyer.
A property listed only as "Shutesbury, MA," without a street address, sold for $500 on July 27. The Shutesbury Athletic Club Inc. was the seller; James M. and Jane L. Plaza were the buyers.
No other transactions in the dataset disclosed a sale price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
West Pelham Road saw three separate transfers during the period: 56 West Pelham Rd. (July 30, price not disclosed, sellers David and Julie Breen), 571 West Pelham Rd. (July 22, price not disclosed, sellers David F. and Margaret E. Gallagher), and 517 W Pelham Rd. (July 13, $22,000).
Montague Road saw two transfers: 449 Montague Rd. ($25,000, July 22) and 196 Montague Rd. (price not disclosed, July 10, seller Greenfield Savings Bank, buyer Nora L. Gurley).
Among the four sales with disclosed prices, two fell under $25,000 ($500 and $22,000) and two fell between $25,000 and $100,000 ($25,000 and $100,000).
MARKET NOTES
A bank or credit union was party to seven of the 12 recorded transfers, either as buyer or seller. UMassFive College Federal Credit Union appeared as the buyer in three transactions (449 Montague Rd., 77 Baker Rd. and 517 W Pelham Rd.) and as the seller in a fourth (12 Birch Dr., buyer Ronald S. Meck). Greenfield Cooperative Bank, Greenfield Savings Bank and Alden Credit Union each appeared as a seller once, on 760 Pratt Corner Rd., 196 Montague Rd. and 35 Weatherwood Dr., respectively. The dataset does not indicate the reason for these financial-institution transfers.
Bed, bath and square-footage figures were not available in the deed records for any property in this dataset.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 10 | 35 Weatherwood Dr | Alden Credit Union | Huang Weizhao; Huang Weizhao S | Not disclosed |
| Jul 10 | 196 Montague Rd | Greenfield Savings Bank | Gurley Nora L | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 13 | 517 W Pelham Rd | Palmer Suzanne C | Umassfive College Federal Credit Union | $22,000 |
| Jul 13 | 12 Birch Dr | Umassfive College Federal Credit Union | Meck Ronald S | Not disclosed |
| Jul 16 | 314 Wendell Rd | Shutesbury Town | Plaza James M | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 20 | 77 Baker Rd | Myers Carrie Ann | Umassfive College Federal Credit Union | $100,000 |
| Jul 20 | 84 January Hills Rd | Ada Services Corp; R Block Mortgage Corp | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 22 | 449 Montague Rd | Jacque Erin E | Umassfive College Federal Credit Union | $25,000 |
| Jul 22 | 571 West Pelham Rd | Gallagher David F; Gallagher Margaret E | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 24 | 760 Pratt Corner Rd | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | Weir Cynthia; Weir Kevin | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 27 | (no address) | Shutesbury Athletic Club Inc | Plaza James M; Plaza Jane L | $500 |
| Jul 30 | 56 West Pelham Rd | Breen David; Breen Julie | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.