Just one of nine Shelburne deeds this period discloses a sale price
SHELBURNE -- Franklin County Registry of Deeds records show nine property transfers in Shelburne between July 10 and Aug. 8, but sellers and buyers disclosed a sale price in only one of those transactions.
MARKET OVERVIEW
Nine sales were recorded in the four-week period. Only one deed, for 97 Smead Hill Rd., listed a consideration amount: $100,000. Because eight of the nine transactions did not disclose a price, that single figure also stands as the period's price range and its effective median, but it should not be read as representative of the broader market. Deed records without a stated consideration are common in Massachusetts and do not necessarily indicate a market slowdown; they simply mean the sale price is not part of the recorded document.
TOP SALES
97 Smead Hill Rd. sold for $100,000 on July 10. The deed lists Justin R. Norman and Asha G. Cahillane as sellers and Greenfield Cooperative Bank as buyer. It is the only transaction in the period with a disclosed price and cannot be compared against the other eight sales, which did not list a consideration amount: a parcel on Cross Street (address listed simply as "Shelburne, MA"), sold July 28 by Cross LLC and Greenfield Cooperative Bank; 2 Cross St., sold July 28 by Cross LLC and EMH Investments LLC; 108 Colrain Shelburne Rd., sold July 27 by Matthew and Alexandra Sieffert; 304 Shelburne Center Rd., sold July 22 by T Bank to Arke Realty LLC; 38 Dragon Hill Rd. and the adjoining Dragon Hill Condo unit at the same address, both sold July 20; 297 Bardwells Ferry Rd., sold July 16 by Operative Bank to John W. and Christopher N. Richardson; and 137 Main St., sold July 13 by Suntrust Mortgage Inc. and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. to Kevin D. Parsons.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
Two streets saw more than one recorded transfer in the period. Cross Street had two deeds recorded the same day, July 28, both involving Cross LLC as seller: one at 2 Cross St. and one listed only under a general Shelburne, MA address. Dragon Hill Road also had two deeds recorded the same day, July 20, both tied to 38 Dragon Hill Rd.: one for the main parcel and one for the Dragon Hill Condo unit at that address, both naming Florence Meleo Meyer as a party. With no disclosed prices, sales cannot be grouped into price tiers this period.
MARKET NOTES
A bank or mortgage-related entity appears as a party in five of the nine recorded transfers: Greenfield Cooperative Bank (seller on the Cross Street parcel and buyer at 97 Smead Hill Rd.), T Bank (seller at 304 Shelburne Center Rd.), Operative Bank (seller at 297 Bardwells Ferry Rd.), and Suntrust Mortgage Inc. together with Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. (sellers at 137 Main St.). The Dragon Hill Road deeds show Florence Meleo Meyer as both a named seller and, through a trust designation, a named buyer, consistent with an intra-family or trust transfer; the registry data does not indicate why the transfer occurred. Property type cannot be determined from the deed data beyond the Dragon Hill Condo unit, which is identified as a condominium; the remaining eight parcels are not further categorized in the available records. No square footage, bedroom or bathroom counts were available for any of the nine properties.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 10 | 97 Smead Hill Rd | Norman Justin R; Cahillane Asha G | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | $100,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 13 | 137 Main St | Suntrust Mortgage Inc; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | Parsons Kevin D | Not disclosed |
| Jul 16 | 297 Bardwells Ferry Rd | Operative Bank | Richardson John W; Richardson Christopher N | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 20 | 38 Dragon Hill Rd | Meyer Florence Meleo Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 20 | 38 Dragon Hill Rd Unit 38 Dragon Hill Condo | Dragon Hill Condo; Meyer Florence M | Meyer Florence Meleo Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Jul 22 | 304 Shelburne Center Rd | T Bank | Arke Realty LLC | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 27 | 108 Colrain Shelburne Rd | Sieffert Matthew; Sieffert Alexandra | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 28 | (no address) | Cross LLC; Greenfield Cooperative Bank | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 28 | 2 Cross St | Cross LLC; Emh Investments LLC | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.