Hawley Deed Prices Span $120,000 To $350,000 With $300,000 Median
HAWLEY -- Ten properties changed hands in Hawley in the four weeks ending Aug. 15, but only three of those deeds disclosed a sale price, ranging from $120,000 to $350,000. The month's recorded transfers were concentrated on West Hawley Road and East Hawley Road, each the site of three separate deed filings.
MARKET OVERVIEW
The Franklin County Registry of Deeds recorded 10 property transfers in Hawley during the period. Of those, three listed a consideration amount: $120,000, $300,000 and $350,000, for a median of $300,000. The other seven deeds did not disclose a sale price, which is common for certain deed types and does not necessarily indicate a $0 transaction. Because 70 percent of this period's transfers carry no price, the raw count of 10 sales should not be read as a gauge of market activity in dollar terms.
TOP SALES
90 West Hawley Rd sold for $350,000 on Aug. 10. The sellers were Robin C. Clark and Wayne R. Clark; the buyer was Max A. Helmetag.
7 Clark Rd sold for $300,000 on July 17. The seller was Joshua E. Davidson, trustee; no buyer was listed in the deed data.
40 W Hill Rd sold for $120,000 on Aug. 12. The seller was Joseph N. Savoie Jr.; the buyers were T Bank and Traders Trust Co.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
West Hawley Road saw three separate transfers this period: 90 West Hawley Rd ($350,000, Aug. 10), 198 West Hawley Rd (price not disclosed, Aug. 6) and 334 West Hawley Rd (price not disclosed, July 29).
East Hawley Road also saw three deeds, all recorded Aug. 14, at two addresses, 342 East Hawley Rd and 324 East Hawley Rd (also listed as 324 E Hawley Rd). All three involved members of the Harrison family as grantor and/or grantee, with Liberty Bank named alongside Ashley E. Harrison on one deed. None disclosed a price.
West Hill Road recorded two transfers at the same address, listed as both 40 W Hill Rd and 40 West Hill Rd, six days apart. On Aug. 6, T Bank transferred the property to Joseph N. Savoie Jr. and Linda M. Savoie with no price disclosed. On Aug. 12, Joseph N. Savoie Jr. transferred the property to T Bank and Traders Trust Co. for $120,000.
Clark Road and East Road each had one transfer. 7 Clark Rd sold for $300,000. 49 East Rd, sold from Garrett J. Kopeski to Hawley View LLC on July 27, did not disclose a price.
MARKET NOTES
Bedroom, bathroom and square-footage figures are not available in deed records, so no price-per-square-foot comparison can be made this period. Eight of the 10 deeds recorded named a bank, mortgage-registration entity or trust as grantor or grantee, including Liberty Bank, T Bank, Traders Trust Co. and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., or involved transfers among people sharing the same last name, as with the Harrison and Savoie transactions. One deed, for 334 West Hawley Rd, listed the Hawley Town Treasurer as seller. The deed data does not indicate the reason for these transfers, and none should be assumed.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 17 | 7 Clark Rd | Davidson Joshua E Tr. | $300,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 27 | 49 East Rd | Kopeski Garrett J | Hawley View LLC | Not disclosed |
| Jul 29 | 334 West Hawley Rd | Hawley Town Treasurer | Schmitt Michael | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 6 | 198 West Hawley Rd | Geneva Financial LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | Crowningshield Jocelyn; Leh Max | Not disclosed |
| Aug 6 | 40 West Hill Rd | T Bank | Savoie Joseph N Jr.; Savoie Linda M | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 90 West Hawley Rd | Clark Robin C; Clark Wayne R | Helmetag Max A | $350,000 |
| Aug 12 | 40 W Hill Rd | Savoie Joseph N Jr. | T Bank; Traders Trust Co | $120,000 |
| Aug 14 | 342 East Hawley Rd | Harrison Drew M; Harrison Ashley E | Harrison Drew | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 324 East Hawley Rd | Harrison Drew | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 14 | 324 E Hawley Rd | Harrison Ashley E; Liberty Bank | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.