Ashfield sale prices largely undisclosed as two deeds set $18,641 to $47,000 range
ASHFIELD -- Ashfield recorded 11 property deed transfers between July 10 and Aug. 8, but sale prices were disclosed in just two of them, limiting a full picture of the local market this period.
MARKET OVERVIEW The Franklin County Registry of Deeds recorded 11 transactions involving Ashfield properties during the period. Only two included a disclosed consideration amount, $18,641 and $47,000, for a price range of $18,641 to $47,000 and a two-sale median of $32,820. The remaining nine deeds listed no sale price, which is common in deed records and does not necessarily reflect a property's market value. With price data available for less than a fifth of recorded transactions, the disclosed figures are not a reliable gauge of Ashfield's overall market this period. Eleven recorded deeds over the four-week span represents a modest but steady pace of recorded activity for a town of Ashfield's size.
TOP SALES 1530 Williamsburg Road sold for $47,000 on July 24, the highest disclosed price of the period. The sellers were Nicole Drury and Christopher D. Drury; the buyer was Florence Bank. 166 Ludwig Road sold for $18,641 on July 27. The sellers were John D. McGann and Vanessa L. McGann; the buyer was Greenfield Cooperative Bank. Sale prices were not disclosed for the remaining nine transactions recorded during the period, so those deeds cannot be ranked by value.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Cape Street had two recorded transfers: 1704 Cape St. on July 24 and 1594 Cape St. on July 22, both with undisclosed prices. West Road also had two: 1016 West Road on July 21 and 892 West Road on July 20, also undisclosed. The remaining seven transactions were spread across separate streets, including Creamery Road, Hawley Road, Suburban Drive, Norton Hill Road, Baptist Corner Road and Williamsburg Road, with one transfer each aside from Ludwig Road. Because sale prices were disclosed for only two properties, transactions cannot be meaningfully grouped by price tier this period.
MARKET NOTES Bank entities appear as grantor, grantee or both in six of the 11 recorded deeds: Greenfield Cooperative Bank (166 Ludwig Road and 1704 Cape St.), Florence Bank and Florence Savings Bank (1530 Williamsburg Road, 1594 Cape St., 1016 West Road and 193 Norton Hill Road), Rocket Mortgage LLC (562 Suburban Drive) and Wilmington Savings Fund Society FSB and Christiana Trust, both listed as trustee by attorney (892 West Road). One transfer, at 1180 Hawley Road, listed sellers identified as trustees, Robert N. Cherdack and Jean A. Cherdack. No bed, bath or square-footage data was available in the deed records for any property, and the records did not distinguish property type, such as single-family, condominium or multi-family, for any of the 11 transactions.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 20 | 892 West Rd | Wilmington Savings Fund Society Fsb Tr. By Atty; Christiana Trust Tr. By Atty | Walker Mary L; Walker Robert | Not disclosed |
| Jul 21 | 1016 West Rd | Florence Bank; Florence Savings Bank | Moore Thomas F; Summers Mandi E | Not disclosed |
| Jul 21 | 193 Norton Hill Rd | Florence Bank; Florence Savings Bank | Johnson James H; Johnson Carolyn B | Not disclosed |
| Jul 21 | 1789 Baptist Corner Rd | Stark Jonathan Edward; Stark Susan | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 22 | 1594 Cape St | Florence Bank; Florence Savings Bank | Dostal Daniel; Dostal Denae A | Not disclosed |
| Jul 23 | 562 Suburban Dr | Roberts Whitney J; Rocket Mortgage LLC | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 24 | 1530 Williamsburg Rd | Drury Nicole; Drury Christopher D | Florence Bank | $47,000 |
| Jul 24 | 1704 Cape St | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | Leue Emily W; Plumer Andrew | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 27 | 166 Ludwig Rd | Mcgann John D; Mcgann Vanessa L | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | $18,641 |
| Jul 27 | 1180 Hawley Rd | Cherdack Robert N Tr.; Cherdack Jean A Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 28 | 46 Creamery Rd | Keogh Rory P | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.