Bank and Lender Deals Dominate Deerfield's August Property Transfers
DEERFIELD -- Twelve property transfers were recorded in Deerfield during the four weeks ending Sept. 5, but only one deed disclosed a sale price, limiting what conclusions can be drawn about the town's housing market this period.
MARKET OVERVIEW Twelve sales were recorded between Aug. 7 and Sept. 5. Of those, only one, the Aug. 17 transfer of 82 Whately Road, listed a sale price: $50,000. With just one disclosed price, the reported price range and median both stand at $50,000, a figure that reflects a single transaction rather than a broad market sample. Based on raw count alone, 12 recorded deeds in a month is a typical volume of activity for the town; the data does not support characterizing the market as active or quiet beyond that count, since price trends cannot be assessed from one disclosed figure.
TOP SALES 82 Whately Road sold Aug. 17 for $50,000. The sellers were Samuel A. Urkiel and Chelsea A. Urkiel; the buyer was Greenfield Savings Bank. This is the only transaction in the period with a disclosed sale price, and it appears to be a bank acquisition of the property rather than a sale to an individual buyer.
The remaining transactions in the period did not disclose a sale price. Among them: 62 North Main Street and 2 Sugarloaf Street both sold Aug. 14, with Greenfield Savings Bank as seller and K Realty LLC as buyer in both deeds. 25 Grandview Drive sold Aug. 14, with Andrew R. Beaudry (also recorded as Andrew Rene Beaudry) as seller and UMassFive College Federal Credit Union as buyer. 183 Upper Road sold Aug. 7, with Frank Pydych as seller and Fifth Third Bank NA as buyer. 34 Mathews Road sold Aug. 17, with Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. and PrimeLending as sellers and John McAvene and Alexandra Williams as buyers.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Lower Road had two recorded transfers: 282 Lower Road (Aug. 10) and 283 Lower Road (Aug. 14). Capt. Lathrop Drive also had two entries dated Aug. 17, recorded as 17 Capt Lathrop Dr and 17 Captain Lathrop Dr, with different seller names listed (Doulette and Blais, respectively); it is not clear from the deed data whether these represent two distinct transactions or a single property recorded twice under variant spellings. All other addresses in the period, Whately Road, Mathews Road, Grandview Drive, North Main Street, Sugarloaf Street, Boynton Road and Upper Road, each had a single recorded transfer.
MARKET NOTES Eight of the 12 recorded deeds list a bank, credit union or mortgage-servicing company as either buyer or seller: Greenfield Savings Bank (three deeds), Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc./PrimeLending, UMassFive College Federal Credit Union, Data Mortgage Inc./Carrington Mortgage Services, Foundation Finance Co LLC, and Fifth Third Bank NA. K Realty LLC appears as the buyer in two of those deeds, both purchased from Greenfield Savings Bank on the same day, Aug. 14.
Two transfers involved a revocable trust: the Aug. 14 transfer of 283 Lower Road listed the Amy L. Hamilton Revocable Trust and Amy L. Hamilton as trustee, and an Aug. 13 transfer of a Sugarloaf-area condominium unit listed Leland O. Howard as an individual seller and as trustee of the Leland O. Howard Revocable Trust as buyer. Both appear to be transfers within the same name rather than sales to unrelated parties.
Beds, baths and square footage were not available in the deed data for any property in this period. No sale prices were disclosed for 11 of the 12 transactions, which limits the scope of price-based analysis this month.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 7 | 183 Upper Rd | Pydych Frank | Fifth Third Bank Na | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 282 Lower Rd | Data Mortgage Inc By Atty; Carrington Mortgage Services LLC Atty | Carrington Mortgage Services LLC | Not disclosed |
| Aug 11 | 76 Boynton Rd | Rock Heather K; Rock Joshua D | Foundation Finance Co LLC | Not disclosed |
| Aug 13 | (no address) | A Sugarloaf Condo; Howard Leland O | Howard Leland O Tr.; Leland O Howard Revocable Trust | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 283 Lower Rd | Amy L Hamilton Revocable Trust; Hamilton Amy L Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 14 | 25 Grandview Dr | Beaudry Andrew R; Beaudry Andrew Rene | Umassfive College Federal Credit Union | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 62 North Main St | Greenfield Savings Bank | K Realty LLC | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 2 Sugarloaf St | Greenfield Savings Bank | K Realty LLC | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17 | 82 Whately Rd | Urkiel Samuel A; Urkiel Chelsea A | Greenfield Savings Bank | $50,000 |
| Aug 17 | 34 Mathews Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Primelending | Mcavene John; Williams Alexandra | Not disclosed |
| Aug 17 | 17 Capt Lathrop Dr | Doulette Glenn E; Doulette Deborah O | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 17 | 17 Captain Lathrop Dr | Blais Jason; Blais Heather | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.