Sign in Subscribe

Only Two of 11 Deerfield Property Sales Disclosed a Price Last Month

DEERFIELD -- Eleven property transfers were recorded in Deerfield during the four-week period ending Sept. 12, according to Franklin County Registry of Deeds filings, but only two of those transactions listed a sale price, limiting what conclusions can be drawn about the town's market.

MARKET OVERVIEW

Eleven deeds were recorded in Deerfield during the period, all dated between Aug. 14 and Aug. 20. Of those, two carried a disclosed consideration amount, ranging from $50,000 to $319,500, with a median of $184,750 based on those two figures. Because nine of the 11 recorded transfers did not disclose a sale price, a common feature of deed records that does not necessarily indicate anything unusual, the median and price range reflect a small slice of the period's activity rather than the full market. The volume of 11 recorded deeds in a four-week span is consistent with routine transfer activity for a town of Deerfield's size; the dataset does not include prior-period totals for direct comparison.

TOP SALES

The highest-priced transaction on record was 240 Upper Rd., which sold for $319,500 on Aug. 20. The sellers were listed as Charlene Negron and Brian Fay, and the buyer was Country Bank for Savings. The only other disclosed sale was 82 Whately Rd., which sold for $50,000 on Aug. 17; sellers Samuel A. Urkiel and Chelsea A. Urkiel transferred the property to Greenfield Savings Bank. The remaining nine recorded transfers, at 170 Conway Rd., an unaddressed Deerfield parcel, 34 Mathews Rd., 17 Capt Lathrop Dr., 17 Captain Lathrop Dr., 283 Lower Rd., 25 Grandview Dr., 62 North Main St. and 2 Sugarloaf St., did not disclose a sale price.

NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN

By price tier, one disclosed sale fell under $100,000 (82 Whately Rd. at $50,000) and one fell in the $300,000-to-$350,000 range (240 Upper Rd. at $319,500). No disclosed sales fell between those tiers. Two deeds were recorded on Captain Lathrop Drive on Aug. 17, one listed as "17 Capt Lathrop Dr." with sellers Glenn E. and Deborah O. Doulette and one listed as "17 Captain Lathrop Dr." with sellers Jason and Heather Blais; both appear to reference the same street. Separately, two deeds recorded Aug. 14, at 62 North Main St. and 2 Sugarloaf St., both list Greenfield Savings Bank as seller and K Realty LLC as buyer.

MARKET NOTES

Financial institutions appear as either grantor or grantee in six of the 11 recorded transfers: Country Bank for Savings (buyer, 240 Upper Rd.), Operative Bank (seller, 170 Conway Rd.), Greenfield Savings Bank (buyer at 82 Whately Rd., seller at 62 North Main St. and 2 Sugarloaf St.), Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. and PrimeLending (seller, 34 Mathews Rd.), and UMassFive College Federal Credit Union (buyer, 25 Grandview Dr.). That pattern indicates a substantial share of the period's recorded deeds involved lenders rather than a direct sale between two private parties, though the records do not specify whether those transfers stemmed from foreclosure, refinancing or another process. One deed, at 283 Lower Rd., transferred property from the Amy L. Hamilton Revocable Trust to Amy L. Hamilton as trustee, a transfer within the same name. No bedroom, bathroom or square-footage data was available in the deed records for any property, so no price-per-square-foot comparisons or property-type breakdowns could be calculated.


Recorded Deeds

Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.

Aug 10 - Aug 16
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 14283 Lower RdAmy L Hamilton Revocable Trust; Hamilton Amy L Tr.Not disclosed
Aug 1425 Grandview DrBeaudry Andrew R; Beaudry Andrew ReneUmassfive College Federal Credit UnionNot disclosed
Aug 1462 North Main StGreenfield Savings BankK Realty LLCNot disclosed
Aug 142 Sugarloaf StGreenfield Savings BankK Realty LLCNot disclosed
Aug 17 - Aug 23
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 1782 Whately RdUrkiel Samuel A; Urkiel Chelsea AGreenfield Savings Bank$50,000
Aug 1734 Mathews RdMortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; PrimelendingMcavene John; Williams AlexandraNot disclosed
Aug 1717 Capt Lathrop DrDoulette Glenn E; Doulette Deborah ONot disclosed
Aug 1717 Captain Lathrop DrBlais Jason; Blais HeatherNot disclosed
Aug 19170 Conway RdOperative BankNeylon Richard G; Neylon Julie ANot disclosed
Aug 20240 Upper RdNegron Charlene; Fay BrianCountry Bank For Savings$319,500
Aug 20(no address)Patnode Donald R; Patnode MarilynNot disclosed

Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.

Subscribe to Franklin County News

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe